'The King's Speech' Leads Nominations at Moet British Independent Film Awards

The winners will be announced Sunday, Dec. 5 in London.

LONDON -- The King's Speech, the Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush starrer that last week wowed audiences at the London Film Festival and has Firth tipped for Oscar glory, came out on top of the nominations pile for the Moet British Independent Film Awards nods announced Monday.

The character-driven movie is about the trials faced by British wartime monarch George VI as he struggled to overcome a severe stutter at the dawn of the radio age, where his broadcasts were a key source of support for an embattled and frightened nation.

Due to be released here next month, Speechearned eight nominations including best film, best director for Tom Hooper, best screenplay for David Seidler, best actor for Firth, who plays King George VI and best supporting actor nominations for Geoffrey Rush, who plays the Lionel Logue and for Helena Bonham Carter, playing the monarch's wife.

Monsters, Never Let Me Go and The Arbor all received six nominations apiece while, Four Lions took five and Another Year, Made in Dagenham and Brighton Rock each earned four.

In the best actor category, Firth faces Jim Broadbent in Another Year, Riz Ahmed for Four Lions, Scoot McNairy for Monstersand Aiden Gillen in Treacle Junior.

Leading ladies battling it out for the best actress award will be Manjinder Virk in The Arbor, Ruth Sheen for Another Year, Toronto favorite Andrea Riseborough for Brighton Rock, Sally Hawkins for Made in Dagenham and last year's winner, Carey Mulligan this time in Brit-flick coming of age drama Never Let Me Go.

Newcomer Gareth Edwardsreceives an impressive four nominations for his directorial debut Monsters, while Riseborough and Virk are also nominated in the most promising newcomer category.

Mike Leigh (Another Year) Matthew Vaughn (Kick Ass) and Mark Romanek also earned director noms while Four Lions, Kick-Ass, Monsters, and Never Let Me Go also earned best film nominations.

The winners will be announced Sunday Dec. 5 at a ceremony held at Old Billingsgate in London and hosted for the sixth year by James Nesbitt.

Sponsored by Moet & Chandon
Four Lions
The King's Speech
Never Let Me Go

Sponsored by The Creative Partnership
Mike Leigh – Another Year
Matthew Vaughn – Kick-Ass
Tom Hooper – The King's Speech
Gareth Edwards – Monsters
Mark Romanek – Never Let Me Go

Sponsored by 3 Mills Studios
Debs Gardner Paterson – Africa United
Clio Barnard – The Arbor
Rowan Joffe – Brighton Rock
Chris Morris – Four Lions
Gareth Edwards – Monsters

Sponsored by BBC Films
Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain, Simon Blackwell, Christopher Morris – Four Lions
Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn – Kick-Ass
David Seidler – The King's Speech
William Ivory – Made In Dagenham
Alex Garland – Never Let Me Go

Sponsored by M.A.C
Manjinder Virk – The Arbor
Ruth Sheen – Another Year
Andrea Riseborough – Brighton Rock
Sally Hawkins – Made In Dagenham
Carey Mulligan – Never Let Me Go

Jim Broadbent – Another Year
Riz Ahmed – Four Lions
Colin Firth – The King's Speech
Scoot McNairy – Monsters
Aidan Gillen – Treacle Junior

A full list of nominations can be found at: http://bifa.org.uk/nominations/2010

comments powered by Disqus