Kix Brooks wins country broadcasting award

Winners will be recognized during the CMA Awards

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Kix Brooks of the duo Brooks & Dunn has been named national broadcast personality of the year by the Country Music Association.

Brooks, host of Citadel Media's "American Country Countdown," is the first country artist to win an annual broadcaster award given by the association.

Other broadcast personality of the year winners, announced Tuesday:

Major Market -- Cornbread, Pat James, Annie Henson, Harry Schroeder, Mac "Captain Mac" Douglas, "The Cornbread Morning Show," WIL, St. Louis
Large Market -- Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt, Kevin Freeman, "Jim Denny and Friends," WFMS, Indianapolis
Medium Market -- Jack Ryan, "WIVK at Night with Jack Ryan," WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.
Small Market -- Gator Harrison, Greg "StyckMan" Owens, "Gator & The StyckMan," WGSQ, Cookeville, Tenn.

Radio station of the year winners:

Major Market -- KYGO, Denver/Boulder, Colo.
Large Market -- WUBE, Cincinnati
Medium Market -- KUZZ, Bakersfield, Calif.
Small Market -- WKSF, Asheville, N.C.

The broadcast personality of the year and winning radio stations will be recognized during the "The 43rd Annual CMA Awards" airing live Wednesday, Nov. 11, on ABC-TV from the Sommet Center in Nashville.