'Knight' scores in CAS noms

'John Adams' tops in TV categories

The Cinema Audio Society hailed the sound artists behind "The Dark Knight," "Iron Man," "Quantum of Solace," "Slumdog Millionaire" and "WALL-E" as it announced its nominations for the 45th annual CAS Awards, to be held Feb. 14 at the Millennium-Biltmore in Los Angeles.

Singled out were "Knight's" Ed Novick, Lora Hirschberg and Gary A. Rizzo; "Iron's" Mark Ulano, Christopher Boyes and Hirschberg; "Quantum's" Chris Munro, Mike Prestwood Smith and Mark Taylor; "Slumdog's" Resul Pookutty, Ian Tapp and Richard Pryke; and "WALL-E's Tom Myers and Michael Semanick.

In the TV movies and miniseries category, episodes of "John Episodes" scored three of the slots. The nominees are "Generation Kill," Episode 5, "A Burning Dog," Danny Hambrook, Stuart Hilliker, Alexandros Sidiropoulous; "Adams," Episode 1, "Join or Die," Jay Meagher, Mike Minkler, Bob Beemer; "Adams," Episode 2, "Independence," Meagher, Minkler, Beemer; "Adams," Episode 3, "Don't Tread on Me," Meagher, Marc Fishman, Tony Lamberti; and "Recount," Gary Alper, Gary C. Bourgeois, Greg Orloff.

The TV series nominees are "24: Redemption," William F. Gocke, Michael Olman, Kenneth Kobett; "Dexter," Episode 5, "Turning Biminese," Roger Pietschman, Elmo Ponsdomenech, Kevin Roache; "House -- The Last Resort," Von Varge, Gerry Lentz, Rich Weingart; "Lost -- Meet Kevin Johnson," Robert Anderson Jr., Frank Morrone, Scott Weber; and "Mad Men -- The Jet Set," Peter Bentley, Ken Teaney, Geoffrey Rubay.

For TV, nonfiction, variety or music, the nominees are "American Idol," Season 7 finale, Brian Riordan, Conner Moore; "Deadliest Catch -- No Mercy," Bob Bronow; "Great Performances at the Met: La Boheme," Bill King, Ken Hahn, Jay Saks, John Bowen; "Great Performances: Company," Jorge Silva, Hahn; and "Steve Miller Band Live in Chicago," Andy Johns, Brian Slack.

In the DVD original programming category, the nominees are "Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning," Carlos Sotolongo, Mark Fleming, Tom Dahl; "Meerkat Manor: The Story Begins," nominees to be announced; "Runnin' Down a Dream: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers," Andy Johns, Brian Slack; "Smashing Pumpkins -- If All Goes Wrong," Kerry Brown, Slack; and "Wargames: The Dead Code," Terry O'Bright, Keith Rogers.

At the CAS Awards, sound mixer Dennis L. Maitland will receive the CAS Career Achievement Award, and Paul Mazursky will receive the CAS Filmmaker Award.