'Knight,' 'Sex' among costume guild noms

'Button,' 'Milk' also will vie for CDG honors

The red dress that Cate Blanchett's Daisy wears in "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," the Joker's green vest in "The Dark Knight" and the ladies-who-lunch designer duds that Carrie and her pals sport in "Sex and the City" have caught the eye of the Costume Designers Guild, which announced nominations for its 11th annual awards Tuesday.

The Feb. 17 awards gala at the Beverly Wilshire will see five nominees vying in the period film category: "Changeling," costume designer Deborah Hopper; "Button," Jacqueline West; "The Duchess," Michael O'Connor; "Milk," Danny Glicker; and "Revolutionary Road," Albert Wolsky.

For contemporary film, the nominees are "Iron Man" (Laura Jean Shannon and Rebecca Bentjen), "Mamma Mia!" (Ann Roth), "Sex" (Patricia Field), "Slumdog Millionaire" (Suttirat Larlarb) and "The Wrestler" (Amy Westcott).

Nominees in the fantasy film race are "The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian" (Isis Mussenden), "The Dark Knight" (Lindy Hemming) and "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor" (Sanja Mikovic Hays).

Last year's winners in the TV series categories -- Eduardo Castro for "Ugly Betty" and Robert Blackman for "Pushing Daisies" -- are nominated again this year.

Castro and Field (also nominated for "Sex") share a nom for "Betty," which returned in the contemporary TV series lineup. And nommed are "30 Rock" (Tom Broecker), "Entourage" (Amy Westcott), "Dancing With the Stars" (Randall Christensen) and "Gossip Girl" (Eric Daman).

In the period/fantasy TV series, "Daisies' " Blackman is nominated alongside "Mad Men" (Katherine Jane Bryant) and "The Tudors" (Joan Bergin).

The nominees for TV movie/miniseries are "Bernard and Doris" (Joseph Aulisi), "Coco Chanel" (Stefano De Nardis), "Cranford" (Jenny Beavan), "John Adams" (Donna Zakowska) and "Sense and Sensibility" (Michele Clapton).

In the category of commercial, nominees are "Levi's -- HIS" (Kym Barrett), "Milk -- White Gold" (Casey Storm) and "Nike -- Fate" (Donna Zakowska).

The awards, hosted by Debra Messing, also will include the Swarovski Presidents Award, which will be presented to Michael Douglas, and the Distinguished Collaborator Award, going to James Burrows. Marilyn Vance is to receive the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award, and the Career Achievement in Television Award will go to Van Broughton Ramsey.