KTTV, NBC-TV top L.A. Emmy noms

CBS/KCAL, KCET also receive several nods

KTTV and NBC-TV led the pack of nominees for the 61st Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards with 16 noms each.

The coverage of the deadly September Metrolink accident earned two nominations in the Live Coverage of an Unscheduled News Event category, one for KTTV and one for CBS/KCAL. The third nominee in the category is KTTV's coverage of the November firestorm.

In the individual reporting categories, KTTV's Christine Devine, KABC's Rob Hayes, KCBS' Dave Malkoff and KCBS/KCAL's Lisa Sigell were nominated for news featue reporting; KNBC's Ana Garcia and Joel Grover and KTLA's Chip Yost were nominated for hard news reporting; and KABC's Curt Sandoval and Fox Sports Net West's Patrick O'Neal for sports reporting.

The entrants in the stations categories are labeled as "candidates," not nominees.

In the under-35-minute daily newscast field, KCBS and KNBC's latenight newscasts face KTTV's 10 a.m. news, KVEA's "En Contexto" and KMEX's "Noticias."

Among newscasts over 35 minutes, KCBS and KNBC's 5 p.m. news will compete against KTTV, KCAL and KTLA's 10 p.m. newscasts as well as KCOP's "My 13 News."

KTLA Morning News, KTTV's Good Day LA, CBS2 News at 6 a.m., KCAL9 News at Noon as well as KVEA's Al Medio Dia and KMEX's Primera Edicion Por Univision will vie for the award in the daily newscast category.

Download a PDF of the full nominees list.