KTTV tops L.A. Emmy noms

Governors nod to KVEA's 'Vida'

KTTV leads the pack of nominees for the 59th annual Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards with 17 mentions.

The Fox O&O is followed by KNBC, which nabbed 16 nominations, and KCET, which earned 15. KCBS/KCAL and Fox Sports Net West round out the top five with 12 and 10 noms, respectively.

Academy of Television Arts & Sciences chairman Dick Askin also said that Telemundo KVEA's "Mejorando Su Vida" (Improving Your Life) has been tapped to receive the Los Angeles Area Governors Award, which honors "broadcasting achievement in the Los Angeles market."

"KVEA 52 is doing a tremendous job providing important information and services to the Latino community through 'Mejorando Su Vida,' " Askin said. "We are very pleased that the academy's board of governors voted to bestow this honor on a news outlet that educates and effects positive change in the community."

A total of 139 nominations in 46 categories were announced for the Los Angeles Area Emmys. In the regularly scheduled daily news competition, the contenders for best daytime newscast are KVEA, KCBS, KTTV, KCAL, KTLA, KMEX and KNBC. Vying for Emmy glory in the 35-minute-and-under format for regularly scheduled daily news are KCBS, KNBC, KWHY, KVEA and KMEX. For regularly scheduled daily newscasts over 35 minutes, the contenders are KCBS, KNBC, KTTV, KCAL, KTLA and KCOP. (There are no formal nominations in the three newscast categories; all stations who submit programs are considered in the final judging process.)

KNBC and KCBS/KCAL also received noms in the category for live coverage of an unscheduled news event. KNBC reporter Robert Kovacik and camera operator Jeffrey Scharping were nominated for "Murder Suspect Surrenders," while the KCBS/KCAL news team was nominated for "The Esperanza Fire."

In the outstanding news director category, KMEX's Armando Acevedo and KTLA's Stephanie Medina were nominated.

For news feature reporting, the reporters receiving noms are KCBS/KCAL's Josh Rubenstein, KCBS/KCAL's Lisa Joyner and producer Kimberly McWatt, KABC's Rob Hayes and KTTV's Susan Hirasuna.

Vying for Emmy recognition in the hard-news reporting category will KABC reporter David Ono, KTTV reporter-producer Gina Silva, KNBC reporter Joel Grover and producer Matt Goldberg and KMEX reporter Norma Roque.

In the sports reporting category, KABC reporter Curt Sandoval and producers Dae Ho Suk and Jeff MacIntyre and FSN West reporter Patrick O'Neal will compete.

The L.A. Emmys will be handed out Aug. 25 at ATAS' Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in North Hollywood.

A complete list of nominees can be found at www.hollywood reporter.com.