L.A. Film Fest picks winners

'Wah Do' and 'Those Who' take top awards

Sam Fleischner and Ben Chace's "Wah Do Dem" (What They Do) earned the Target Filmmaker Award for best narrative film, while Juan Carlos Rulfo and Carlos Hagerman' "Those Who Remain" (Los Que se Quedan) took home the Target Docmentary Award at the Los Angeles Film Fest, which concluded Sunday.

The two top awards, which each carry an unrestricted $50,000 cash prize that goes to the directors, were announced at Film Independent's Filmmaker Awards Ceremony Brunch at the Hammer Museum in Westwood.

"Wah Do Dem" is the story a man who takes a solo Caribbean cruise after his dumped by his girlfriend. "Those Who Remain" looks at the Mexican families who are left behind after some of their members emigrate north.

This year the fest also presented a new award, the Target Dream in Color Award, recognizing a short film in the fest's Future Filmmaker Showcase for high school students. The recepient was Sam Rubin for the film "Lipstick."

The audience award for best narrative feature went to Cyrus Nowrasteh's "The Stoning of Soraya M.," which Roadside Attractions has just begun to release theatrically.

The audience award for best documentary feature went to Jeffrey Levy-Hinte's "Soul Power," while Eva Norvind's "Born Without" (Nacido Sin) won the audience award for best international feature.

Shayne Topp was presented with the prize for outstanding performance in the narrative competition for his role in Suzi Yoonessi's "Dear Lemon Lima."

Other winners were: Antonio Mendez Esparza's "Time and Again," narrative short; Anna Gaskell's "Replayground," documentary short; Jeremy Clapin's "Skhizein," animated short; Patrick Eklund's "Instead of Abracadabra," audience award for bet short; and Walter Robot's "Grapevine Fires," audience award for best video.