'La La Land,' Mel Gibson Win Australian Academy’s International Awards

Courtesy of Dale Robinette/Lionsgate
'La La Land'

Casey Affleck and Emma Stone took home the acting honors at the ceremony, which was attended by Luke Hemsworth, Harvey Weinstein and Sacha Baron Cohen, among others.

La La Land, Lion and Manchester by the Sea won two honors each at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts International Awards, which were handed out at a star-studded ceremony at Avalon Hollywood on Friday.

La La Land won the best film honor, and Emma Stone was named best actress for her role in Damien Chazelle’s modern take on the classic movie musical. Casey Affleck was honored as best actor for his turn in Manchester by the Sea as the film's writer-director, Kenneth Lonergan, took home the best screenplay award.

Lion's Dev Patel and Nicole Kidman won the best supporting actor and best supporting actress awards, respectively.

However, it was Mel Gibson, continuing his march to the Oscars, who picked up the best director honor for Hacksaw Ridge, rounding out the seven award categories for the night. His win came on top of the nine awards that Hacksaw Ridge earned at the AACTA’s domestic outing in December.

"It’s wonderful to see such a dynamic mix of international and Australian achievement honored tonight — and we’re delighted to see Australians Nicole Kidman and Mel Gibson honored for Australian films Lion and Hacksaw Ridge," said AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella. “For the past six years, the voting patterns of the Australian Academy’s international chapter have often indicated those of the SAG Awards, Golden Globes, BAFTAs and the Oscars. I’d like to congratulate all winners and wish them every success throughout the awards season."

The AACTA International Awards are determined by the Aussie Academy’s international chapter, which is made up of 150 Australian screen professionals with international credentials, many of whom are AMPAS and BAFTA members. They are designed to recognize “film excellence regardless of geography.”