Lake Arrowhead fest announces winners

'Reach for Me' wins best feature, best of the festival

LeVar Burton's "Reach for Me" took home the best feature film award and the best of the festival award at the 10th anniversary Lake Arrowhead Film Festival, which concluded Sunday.

At the fest's awards luncheon at the Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, director Joe Dante received the award for Special Achievement in the Art of Independent Filmmaking.

Other awards were presented to Georgina Lightning's "Older Than America," which received the June Lockhart Special Achievement in Film Award, and James Chressanthis' "Laszlo and Vilmos: No Subtitles Necessary" was presented with a Special Recognition Award.

Chris McDonald served as the host for the ceremony, with Seymour Cassel, Charlie Robinson, Barry Primus, Cynthia Stevenson, Brett Cullen and Chris Mulkey all serving as presenters.