Larry King, Brett Ratner to Get American Jewish Historical Society Honors

Larry King Brett Retner - Getty - H - 2016
Charley Gallay/Getty Images

The two, who also happen to be good friends, will travel to New York for the Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Dinner on Dec. 1.

The American Jewish Historical Society — known as the oldest ethnic, cultural archive in the United States — has singled out a high-profile pair of Hollywood names to honor at its AJHS Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Dinner on Dec. 1 at New York's Roosevelt Hotel.

TV legend Larry King will take home the Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award, and filmmaker Brett Ratner will receive the org's inaugural Visionary Leadership Award.

The Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award is presented “to an individual or group whose contribution reflects the highest values of the American Jewish Community," according to the org. The award is named for poet Emma Lazarus, whose archival collection, including the original handwritten 'The New Colossus,' the poem engraved on the Statue of Liberty’s pedestal, is housed at the AJHS headquarters in the city. King will join an esteemed list of prior recipients including Henry Kissinger, Elie Wiesel, Ed Koch, Beverly Sills, George Shultz, Sanford I. Weill and Mort Zuckerman.

Meanwhile, Ratner's prize has been created to honor “a dynamic thought leader in the American Jewish community.”

Said Rachel Lithgow, executive director of the AJHS: “Larry’s background, commitment to Jewish philanthropy and causes as well as his unparalleled career as a proud Jewish broadcaster both represents and compliments our work beautifully. He was an obvious choice for an Emma laureate. Brett Ratner is a young visionary who thinks, writes and speaks about all the issues tied with our work at AJHS: Identity, geography, history and culture. He was our first and only choice to be the inaugural recipient.”

Proceeds from the Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Dinner directly support the AJHS. The honorary gala committee members include Michael Barker, Len Blavatnik, George S. Blumenthal, Bruce Charet, Buzzy Geduld, Allen Grubman, Rabbi Marvin Hier, Shawn King, Jerry Lewis, Harvey Mackay, Al Malnik, James Packer, Ron Perelman, Richard Plepler, Kurt Rappaport, James Toback and Martin Zeiger.

More information about the event can be found here