Just For Laughs to honor Todd Phillips

Conference includes comedy awards, panels

TORONTO -- Todd Phillips ("The Hangover") is to receive the best comedy director award and Etan Cohen ("Tropic Thunder") the best comedy writer honor at next month's Just For Laughs comedy conference in Montreal, organizers said Monday.

The Montreal forum on all things funny will also bring Cohen together with fellow writers Tami Sagher, Jeremy Garelick and Dan Sterling for the "Comedy's Next Generation of Writers: A Look Ahead" panel to crystal ball about their craft.

Also booked into the July 23-25 conference is Mike Farah and Avi Rothman for an online comedy panel, while the "Breaking New Ground: Adult Animation Grows Up" panel includes Dino Stamatopoulos, Tommy Blacha and Vernon Chatman.

And Nathan Kahane ("Juno"), Todd Phillips and Tom McNulty are the first panelists named for the "Producing Great Comedy: The Secret Sauce" session.

Just For Laughs will make additional announcements on comedy conference participants in the coming weeks.