‘When We Leave’ Leads German Film Critics Awards Nominations

Feo Aladag’s honor killing drama nominated in every category it was eligible for except best actor.


COLOGNE, Germany -- Feo Aladag’s honor killing drama When We Leave received seven nominations from the Germany’s film critics association for its annual awards celebration. The drama, Aladag’s debut, is Germany’s candidate for the Foreign Language Oscar. Local critics nominated the film in every category it was eligible for except best actor. Sibel Kekilli, who stars as a German-born woman ostracized by her traditionalist Turkish family, picked up a nom for best actress.

Aladag’s main competition in the best film category could come from veteran German director Tom Tykwer, whose latest, the Berlin menage a trios tale Three, secured five noms, including ones for all three leads: Sophie Rois, Sebastian Schipper and Devid Striesow.

Dark horses in the best picture race include Lars Kraume’s near-future drama The Coming Days, which grabbed four nominations; the historical drama Boxhagener Platz from director Matti Geschonneck and Dennis Gansel’s German vampire movie We Are The Night.

The winners of this year’s German Film Critics association honors will be announced during the Berlin International Film Festival next month.

Nominations for German Film Critics Awards, 2011:

Best Film

Boxhagener Platz (Director: Matti Geschonneck)
The Silence (Director: Baran bo Odar)
When We Leave (Director: Feo Aladag!)
Three (Director: Tom Tykwer)
Goethe! (Director: Philipp Stölzl)
Habermann (Director: Juraj Herz)
Vincent Wants to Sea (Director: Ralf Huettner)
We Are The Night (Director: Dennis Gansel)

Best Debut Film

The Dispensables (Director: Andreas Arnstedt)
When We Leave (Director: Feo Aladag)
Losing Balance (Director: Felix Fuchssteiner)
Parkour (Director: Marc Rensing)
Schwerkraft (Director: Maximilian Erlenwein)

Best Actress

Bernadette Heerwagen (The Coming Days)
Sibel Kekilli (When We Leave)
Julia Koschitz (Der letzte schone Herbsttag)
Sophie Rois (Three)
Katrin Sass (The SIlence)

Best Actor

August Diehl (The Coming Days)
Fabian Hinrichs (Schwerkraft)
Andreas Lust (The Robber)
Sebastian Schipper (Three)
Devid Striesow (Three)

Best Cinematography

Boxhagener Platz (Martin Langer)
When We Leave (Judith Kaufmann)
The Coming Days (Sonja Rom)
Parkour (Ulle Hadding)
We Are The Night (Thorsten Breuer)

Best Screenplay

When We Leave (Feo Aladag)
Three (Tom Tykwer)
Friendship! (Oliver Ziegenbalg)
Run, When You Can (Dietrich Bruggemann, Anna Bruggemann)
We Are The Night (Jan Berger)

Best Score

When We Leave (Stephane Moucha, Max Richter)
The Coming Days (Christoph M. Kaiser, Julian Maas)
Die Liebe der Kinder (Tobias Ellenberg, Daniel Backes, Jennifer Jones)
Jane's Journey (Wolfgang Netzer, Chris Heyne)
Jerry Cotton (Helmut Zerlett, Christoph Zirngibl)

Best Editing

Der Freischutz (Martin Hoffmann)
When We Leave (Andrea Mertens)
Im Haus meines Vaters sind viele Wohnungen (Daniela Grosch)
Jew Suss – Rise and Fall (Bettina Bohler)
Orly (Mathilde Bonnefoy)

Best Documentary

Berlin – Stettin (Director: Volker Koepp)
Das Schreiben und das Schweigen (Director: Carmen Tartarotti)
Im Haus meiner Vaters sind viele Wohnungen (Director: Hajo Schomerus)
Mein Herz sieht die Welt schwarz (Director: Helga Reidemeister)
Neukolln Unlimited (Director: Agostino Imondi/Dietmar Ratsch)