Lee honored as Courmayeur Noir wraps


MILAN, Italy -- U.S. writer-director Jieho Lee received the special jury award Monday as the 17th Courmayeur Noir in Festival came to a close.

The award, handed out by the international jury headed by Italian horror director Dario Argento, was for Lee's "The Air I Breathe." The film's cast includes Oscar winner Forest Whitaker, who received the best actor award at last year's festival for "The Last King of Scotland."

Other awards at this year's event included the Napapijri Prize for Best Acting Performance, which went to Ingvar Sigurdsson for his part in Icelandic director Baltasar Kormakur's "Myrin" (Jar City).

"Vous etes de la police?" by French director Romuald Beugnon received the Fox Crime Audience Award, while "Der Andere Junge" by German director Volker Einrauch took the Black Lion for best film.

The Young European Film Critic Jury, whose members included Christina Ricci, bestowed a DocNoir Award for best documentary to Dutch director Klaartje Quirijns for "The Dictator Hunter."

The festival, dedicated to the film noir genre, began Dec. 4 at the exclusive Italian ski resort.