Lee Isaac Chung Takes Two Top Prizes at Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival

He receives an award as outstanding director, and his "Abigail Harm" is named best narrative feature.

Director Lee Isaac Chung took top honors at the 2013 Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival, which handed out its awards at the closing ceremonies on Thursday night, May 9. Chung’s Abigail Harm, starring Tetsuo Kuramochi and Amanda Plummer, won the Grand Jury Prize for Best Narrative Feature, and Chung also received the Outstanding Director Award.

Additional narrative film awards given out included: Outstanding Screenplay, which went to writer Jeff Mizushima for the script for Sake Bomb, and Outstanding First Feature Award, which went to Keo Wolford for The Haumana, his feature directorial debut.  Acting awards were given for Breakout Performance by an Actress, Vera Miao in Best Friends Forever, and Breakout Performance by an Actor, Jason Tobin in Chink.

PHOTOS: China Box Office: 10 Highest-Grossing Movies of All Time

In the documentary jury competition, When I Walk, directed by Jason DaSilva, received the Grand Jury Prize for Best Film. Filmmaker Kalyanee Mam was a double awardee, receiving both the Outstanding Director Award and the Outstanding Cinematography Award for her film, A River Changes Course. Outstanding Editor went to Tadashi Nakamura for Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings. Cinematographer Peggy Peralta was given an Honorable Mention for lensing the documentary Harana

The Audience Award for Best Narrative Film resulted in a tie between Wolford’s The Haumana and Jeff Liu’s Yellow Face. The Audience Award for Best Documentary Film went to Nakamura’s Jake Shimabukuro.

The festival, produced by Visual Communications, presented Key of Life as its closing-night film.