Les Moonves, Dick Wolf and Ron Howard Among TV 'Hall of Fame' Inductees

Les Moonves Headshot - P 2012
Getty Images

Les Moonves Headshot - P 2012

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will also honor CBS' Bob Schieffer and sportscaster Al Michaels at the ceremony on March 11.

Les Moonves, Dick Wolf and Ron Howard are among the honorees to be inducted into The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' Hall of Fame this year.

CBS CEO Moonves, Law & Order mastermind Wolf and multi-hyphenate Howard will be joined in receiving the honor along with CBS broadcaster Bob Schieffer, sportscaster Al Michaels, and, posthumously, Philo T. Farnsworth, the once-overlooked inventor who created all-electronic television transmission.

The 22nd annual gala ceremony will take place March 11 at the Beverly Hilton. For the first time, proceeds from the event will benefit the Television Academy Foundation's Archive of American Television, an ever-evolving collection of video interviews with the medium's pioneers and legends.

"Each of this year's Hall of Fame inductees is incredibly deserving of this honor and is truly a legend of our industry," said Academy chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum in a statement Wednesday. "This will be a spectacular evening, rich with stories and reminiscing."

Boldfaced names on the Hall of Fame selection committee include Warner Bros. Television president Peter Roth, NBCU Cable Entertainment leader Bonnie Hammer and CBS Entertainment president Nina Tassler.