Lifetime achievement award for Lambert


LONDON -- Producer Verity Lambert, who made the original "Doctor Who" series, will pick up this year's Lifetime Achievement Award at the upcoming Women In Film And Television awards here.

Lambert is scheduled to pick up the award, sponsored by Working Title Films, for her "outstanding contribution to the film and television industry" at the ceremony held Dec. 7 in central London.

Lambert "has conspicuously promoted women on both sides of the camera, and has been at the top of her profession for more than forty years. Verity is an inspiration for us all," said Sophie Balhetchet, chair of Women in Film and Television.

For her part, Lambert said she was thrilled to receive the nod, "especially as I feel very fortunate to have worked with some of the most talented people in the country."

In a career spanning more than four decades, Lambert's credits span "Doctor Who" in 1963 to the BAFTA and Royal Television Society-winning "Rock Follies" in 1976. She most recently worked with writer David Renwick on "Love Soup," a second series of which will air on BBC1 in early 2008.

In 2002, Lambert received BAFTA's Alan Clarke Award for outstanding contribution to TV, and an O.B.E in recognition of her services to film and television.

Previous WFTV Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Norma Heyman (2006), Esther Rantzen (2005), Cilla Black (2004), Barbara Windsor (2003), Diana Rigg (2001) and Judi Dench (1997).

The 17th Annual Women in Film and Television Awards are sponsored by Channel Five Broadcasting.