Locarno begins naming jurors


ROME -- The International Competition jury at this year's Locarno International Film Festival will feature Chinese filmmaker Zhang Ke Jia and Italian helmer Saverio Costanzo, festival organizers said Thursday.

Zhang, who won the Golden Lion Award in Venice last year for his film "Still Life," and Costanzo, who took home Locarno's Golden Leopard award for "Private" in 2004, have agreed to participate as members of the main competition jury, which is not yet fully assembled.

Meanwhile, Swiss national Marc-Olivier Wahler, director of the Palais de Tokyo contemporary arts center in Paris; Spanish journalist and historian Nuria Vidal; and Argentine director Diego Lerman have all agreed to be part of Locarno's Filmmakers of the Present competition jury.

The Leopard prize for best first feature -- awarded to the best first film in the two main competition sections -- will be selected by a jury to include "Satin Rouge" director Raja Amari, from Tunisia; Portuguese producer Francisco Villa-Lobos; and Hungarian director Kornel Mundruczo, who made the Silver Leopard-winning film "Szep Napok" (Pleasant Days) in 2002.

The Leopards of Tomorrow short-film competition will be awarded by a jury that includes German actor and director Christopher Buchholz; French short film producer Lyes Salem; and Belgian filmmaker Olivier Masset-Depasse.

The 60th edition of the Locarno festival will take place Aug.1-11.