Locarno to celebrate 60th in U.S. style


MILAN -- The world premiere of Fumihiko Sori's animated film "Vexille" will open the 60th annual Locarno International Film Festival on Aug. 1, organizers said Wednesday, ushering in a program that includes a host of Hollywood films and projects from up-and-coming international directors.

The selection of the anime title -- about a female agent investigating the development of prohibited robotic technologies -- represents a departure from last year's opening film, "Miami Vice." But second-year artistic director Frederic Maire is hardly avoiding Hollywood fare.

Slated for world or European premieres in Locarno's famous Piazza Grande are "Planet Terror" and "1408" from the Weinstein Co., "The Bourne Ultimatum" and "Knocked Up" from Universal, "Waitress" from Fox Searchlight and "Hairspray" from New Line Cinema.

The Franco-American co-production "Winners and Losers," Polish director Lech Kowalski's 2006 World Cup documentary told from the perspective of the spectators, will close the festival Aug. 11.

Hong Kong's "The Drummer," starring Jaycee Chan, son of action icon Jackie Chan, also will screen in the Piazza Grande, along with the Brett Morgen documentary "Chicago 10," about the violence-ridden 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago.

Among the top-shelf Hollywood talent expected to attend the lakeside festival are Anthony Hopkins and Christian Slater, co-stars in the competition comedy "Slipstream." The film represents Hopkins' third directorial effort and first writing credit.

The only other U.S. film in competition is "Joshua" from George Ratliff. Other significant competition titles include "Sooner or Later," from German director Ulrike von Ribbeck, British director Jim Threapleton's "Extraordinary Rendition" and "Boys of Tomorrow," from South Korea's Noh Dong-seok.

In all, 19 films will screen in competition, including 15 world premieres and four international premieres. Seven of the films are the first full-length features for their directors.

A complete lineup for the festival follows:

International competition

"The Rebirth," Masahiro Kobayashi, Japan
"Boys of Tomorrow," Noh Dong-seok, S. Korea
"Captain Achab," Philippe Ramos, France-Sweden
"Contre toute esperance," Bernard Emond, Canada
"Extraordinary Rendition," Jim Threapleton, U.K.
"Freigesprochen," Peter Payer, Austria-Luxembourg
"Sooner or Later," Ulrike von Ribbeck, Germany
"Fuori dalle corde," Fulvio Bernasconi, Switzerland-Italy
"Haiti cherie," Claudio Del Punta, Italy
"Joshua," George Ratliff, U.S.
"Ladrones," Jaime Marques, Spain
"Las vidas posibles," Sandra Gugliotta, Argentina-Germany
"Lo mejor de mi," Roser Aguilar, Spain
"La maison jaune," Hakkar Amor, France-Algeria
"Memories," Eugene Green, Pedro Costa, Harun Farocki, S. Korea
"O capacete dourado," Jorge Cramez, Portugal
"Restul e tacere," Nae Caranfil, Romania
"Slipstream," Anthony Hopkins, U.S.
"Sous les toits de Paris," Hiner Saleem, France

Piazza Grande

"The Bourne Ultimatum," Paul Greengrass, U.S.
"Death at a Funeral," Frank Oz, U.S.-Netherlands-Germany-U.K.
"The Drummer," Kenneth Bi, Hong Kong-Taiwan-Germany
"Hairspray," Adam Shankman, U.S.
"1 journee," Jacob Berger, Switzerland-France
"My Brother Is an Only Child," Daniele Luchetti, Italy-France
"Vexille," Fumihiko Sori, Japan
"Flight of the Red Balloon," Hou Hsiao-hsien, France
"Waitress," Adrienne Shelly, U.S.
"Winners And Losers," Lech Kowalski, France-U.S.
"Chicago 10," Brett Morgen, U.S.
"Knocked Up," Judd Apatow, U.S.
"Nothing but Ghosts," Martin Gypkens, Germany
"Planet Terror," Robert Rodriguez, U.S.
"Vogliamo Anche Le Rose," Alina Marazzi, Italy
"1408," Mikael Hafstrom, U.S.

Filmmakers of the present competition

"Those Three," Naghi Nemati, Iran
"Comme a Ostende," Delphine Lehericey, Belgium
"Estrellas," Federico Leon, Marcos Martinez, Argentina
"Guillaume et les sortileges," Pierre Leon
"Imatra," Corso Salani, France, Italy
"Japan Japan," Lior Shamriz, Israel
"Juizo," Maria Augusta Ramos, Brazil
"Lo Bueno De Llorar," Matias Bize, Spain
"Loren Cass," Chris Fuller, U.S.
"Never Sleeps," Philippe Flechaire, Benoit Falize, Jeremy Boury, France
"Shadows Formless," Ashish Avikuntha, India
"Nos vies Privees," Denis Cote, Canada
"Nuage," Sebastien Betbeder, France
"Nu te supara, dar ...," Adina Pintilie, Romania
"Phantom Love," Nina Menkes, U.S.
"Tagliare le parti in grigio," Vittorio Rifranti, Italy
"Milky Way," Benedek Fliegauf, Hungary
"Tussenstand," Mijke de Jong, Netherlands
"Mid-Afternoon Barks," Zhang Yuedong, China

Ici et ailleurs

"Beautiful Losers," Aaron Rose, Joshua Leonard, U.S.
"La capture," Carole Laure, Canada-France
"Crime and Punishment," Zhao Liang, China-France
"La danse de l'enchanteresse," Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Brigitte Chataignier, France
"Dutti der Riese," Martin Witz, Switzerland
"Handerson e as horas," Kiko Goifman, Brazil
"Io non sono un moderato," Andrea Nobile, Italy
"Kadin," Adolfo B. Alix Jr., Philipines
"Little Moth," Tao Peng, China
"Il pianto della statua," Elisabetta Sgarbi, Italy
"I promessi sposi," Massimo d'Anolfi, Martina Parenti, Italy
"Morceaux de conversations avec Jean-Luc Godard," Alain Fleischer, France
"Preussisch Gangstar," Irma-Kinga Stelmach, Bartosz Werner, Germany
"Shake the Devil Off," Peter Entell, Switzerland
"UPA! Una pelicula Argentina," Tamae Garateguy, Santiago Giralt, Camila Toker, Argentina
"Wierszalin," Francesco Carrozzini, U.S.-Poland