Locarno unveils festival lineup

20 films in main competition at the 63rd edition

ROME -- The World Premiere of Christopher Honore's "Man at Bath", and the international premieres of "Karamay," a 356-minute political documentary from Chinese director Xu Xin and Aaron Katz's mystery story "Cold Weather" will be among the highlights of the 20-film main competition at the 63rd edition of the Locarno Film Festival, organizers said Wednesday.

Wednesday's announcement also revealed the lineup for the festival's famous Piazza Grande venue, which will include the European premiere of Jay and Mark Duplass' comedy "Cyrus" -- John C. Reilly, the film's star, will be on hand to receive a special tribute -- Gareth Edwards' science fiction drama "Monsters," and "Gadkii Utenok" (The Ugly Duckling) from first-time Russian director Garri Bardine.

The picturesque Piazza Grande, which seats more than 8,000, is the largest outdoor film venue in Europe.

Among previously announced films is "LA Zombie" from the provocative Bruce LaBruce, which will screen in competition, where it will vie for the lakeside festival's prestigious Golden Leopard prize.

The festival will also present its Leopard of Honor award to Chinese director Jia Zhang-ke. Other honorees include Italian actress Chiara Mastroianni and Portuguese director Manoel de Oliveira.

This edition of the festival will be the first under the helm of Olivier Pere, who said in a statement that the lineup upholds Locarno's long-standing tradition as a "test bed" for films.

The festival, ranking with Venice and Cannes among Europe's oldest film events, takes place this year August 4-14.

The full lineup for the festival follows:

International Competition

"Bas Fonds," Isild Le Besco, France
"White White World," Oleg Novkovic Serbia, Sweden/Germany
"Beyond the Steppes," Vanja d'Alcantara, Belgium/Poland
"Cold Weather," Aaaron Katz, U.S.
"Curling," Denis Cote, Canada
"Winter Vacation," Li Hongqi, China
"Man at Bath," Christophe Honore, France
"At Ellen's Age," Pia Marais, Germany
"Karamay," Xu Xin, China
"La Petite Chambre," Stephanie Chuat and Veronique Reymond, Switzerland
"L.A. Zombie," Bruce LaBruce, Germany/U.S./France
"Luz Nas Trevas -- A Volta Do Bandido Da Luz Vermelha," Helena Ignez and Icaro C. Martins, Brazil
"Morgen," Marian Crisan, Romania
"Periferic," Bogdan George Apetri, Romania/Austria
"Pietro," Daniele Gaglianone, Italy
"Sac," Tayfun Pirselim, Turkey/Greece
"Songs of Love and Hate," Katalina Godros, Switzerland
"Womb," Benedek Fliegauf, Germany/ Hungary/France

Out Of Competition

"C'etait Hier," Jacqueline Veuve, Switzerland
"Get Out of the Car," Thom Andersen, U.S.
"Hell Roaring Creek," Lucien Castaing-Taylor, U.S.
"Io Sono Tony Scott. La Storia Del Piu Grande Clarinettista Del Jazz,"
Franco Maresco, Italy
"Les Champs Brulants," Catherine Libert and Stefano Canapa, France
"Medemoiselle Else," Isabelle Prim, France

"The Indian Boundary Line," Thomas Comerford, U.S.

Filmmakers Of The Present Competition

"Aardvark," Kitao Sakurai, U.S.
"The Belly of the Whale," Ana Lungu and Ana Szel, Romania
"Foreign Parts," Verena Paravel and J.P. Sniadecki, U.S./France

"Songs of Tomorrow," Jonas Holmstrom and Jonas Bergergard, Sweden
"Ivory Tower," Adam Traynor, Canada/France
"Jo Pour Jonathan," Maxime Giroux, Canada
"La Lisiere," Geraldine Bajard, France/Germany
"The Life Sublime," Daniel V. Villamediana, Spain
"Mandoo," Ebrahim Saeidi, Iraq
"Memory Lane," Mikhael Hers, France
"Intolerance Now," Takahiro Yamauchi, Japan
"Norberto's Deadline," Daniel Hendler, Uruguay/Argentina
"Paraboles," Emmanuelle Demoris, France
"Prud'Hommes," Stephane Goel, Switzerland
"Pulsar," Alex Stockman, Belgium
"September 12," Ozlem Sulak, Germany/Turkey
"The Fourth Portrait," Chung Mong-Hong, Taiwan
"Tilva Ros," Nikola Leraic, Serbia
"You Are Here," Daniel Cockburn, Canada

Piazza Grande

"Au Fond Des Bois," Benoit Jacquot, France/Germany
"Cyrus," Jay Duplass and Mark Duplass, U.S.
"The Silence," Baran bo Odar, Germany
"The Ugly Duckling," Garri Bardine, Russia
"Hugo Koblet -- Pedaleur De Charme," Daniel von Aarburg, Switzerland
"Invisibleboy," Philippe Parreno, France
"King's Road," Valdis Oskarsdottir, Iceland
"The Counsel," Cedric Anger, France
"Monsters," Gareth Edwards, U.K.
"Rammbock," Marvin Kren, Germany
"Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale," Jalmari Helander, Finland
"Rubber," Quentin Dupieux, France
"Little Paradise," Paul Riniker, Switzerland
"The Light Thief," Aktan Arym Kubat, Kyrgyzstan/Germany/France/Netherlands
"To Be or Not to Be," Ernst Lubitsch, U.S.
"Uomini Contro," Francesco Rosi, Italy
comments powered by Disqus