Los Angeles Kings Secure First Stanley Cup Title

Jonathan Quick LA Kings Stanley Cup Win H 2012
Getty Images

The 6-1 blowout came Monday night at Staples Center in front of Hollywood notables including David Boreanaz, Alyssa Milano, Zac Efron and Matthew Perry.

With a big hooray coming from their fans in Hollywood, the Los Angeles Kings captured the first Stanley Cup in their 45-year history Monday night by polishing off the New Jersey Devils of their best-of-seven NHL championship series.

Dustin Brown, Jeff Carter and Trevor Lewis all put the puck in the net during an action-packed first period en route to the Kings’ 6-1 victory over the Devils in Game 6.

PHOTOS: The Best (and Worst) Hockey Movies: 'Miracle,' 'Slap Shot' and 'Mighty Ducks'

After two anxiety-inducing losses, the Kings, who entered the NHL in 1967 as an expansion team owned by Jack Kent Cooke, celebrated their historic title at home with their fans at Staples Center. They won Game 3 at home to go up 3-0 on the Devils but then fell Monday night, sending the series back to New Jersey, where they also lost on Saturday.

Among those from Hollywood on hand for Game 6 were Matthew Perry, Ellen Page, Zac Efron, James Gandolfini, David and Victoria Beckham, Colin Hanks, American Idol creator Simon Fuller, Dave Grohl, LL Cool J, Melanie Griffith, David Boreanaz, Alyssa Milano, House creator David Shore and John Ondrasik, also known as Five for Fighting.

PHOTOS: 26 of Hollywood's Most Popular Athletes-Turned-Actors

After barely qualifying for the playoffs following a tepid regular season, the AEG-owned Kings won an incredible 16 of 20 games in the postseason, eliminating the Vancouver Canucks, St. Louis Blues, Phoenix Coyotes and then the Devils along the way.

Dustin Brown, only the second American-born team captain to win the Stanley Cup, accepted the 120-year-old trophy from NHL commissioner Gary Bettman after Saturday’s game and joyfully coasted around the ice. As is custom, the Cup was handed around to each of his teammates and coaches, beginning with veteran defenseman Willie Mitchell.

Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick was named the winner of the Conn Smythe trophy, given to the most valuable player of the playoffs.

Beginning at noon Thursday, the Kings and AEG will host a downtown championship parade along Figueroa Street, followed by a rally inside Staples Center.