Lucky 7 for Nicholl prize


Seven screenwriters on Monday were selected as recipients of the 22nd Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

This year's winners are Amy Garcia and Cecilia Contreras for "Amelia Earhart and the Bologna Rainbow Highway," Michael L. Hare for "The Fly Fisher," Sidney King for "Kalona," David Mango for "Kissing a Suicide Bomber" and Andrew Shearer and Nicholas J. Sherman for "Holy Irresistible."

Each writer or writing team will receive a $30,000 prize and complete a feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year.

The winners were selected from 5,050 scripts submitted for this year's competition. The annual competition is open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a fellowship or prize that includes a first-look clause, an option or any other quid pro quo involving the writer's work.

Since the program's inception in 1985, 103 fellowships have been awarded. Past winners have included Susannah Grant ("Erin Brockovich") and Ehren Kruger ("The Ring").