Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Lil Wayne Take Top Honors at 2014 BMI R&B/Hip-Hop Awards

Ludacris BMI Awards 2014 P
Lester Cohen/Getty Images for BMI

Ludacris is given the President's Award and Warner/Chappell is named Publisher of the Year at the Hollywood ceremony

The 2014 BMI R&B/Hip-Hop Awards crowned Macklemore & Ryan Lewis with the Song of the Year prize, Lil Wayne with the Songwriter of the Year trophy, and Warner/Chappell Music was named Publisher of the Year.

The awards show, which took place at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood, also presented the President's Award to Christopher "Ludacris" Bridges at the annual ceremony, which honors songwriters, producers and publishers of last year's most-performed R&B/hip-hop songs.

The R&B/hip-hop producer of the year went to DJ Mustard — also the 2014 MTV Video Music Awards house DJ — with a series of songs on the radio from Iggy Azalea's "No Mediocre" to Kid Ink and Chris Brown's "Show Me," among others.

Macklemore & Lewis' win was for their song "Can't Hold Us" from their debut solo album, The Heist, featuring the vocals of Ray Dalton.

During an earlier interview, Ludacris told Billboard that the President's Award is something meaningful for many reasons in a career approaching two decades.

"I've exceeded my expectations and I'm just very proud that people are recognizing it, especially BMI," Ludacris said. "So to be in an elite number of individuals that receive this award is just an honor."

The President's Award is given to those who have shown outstanding achievement in songwriting with a global influence on culture and the entertainment industry. Some of the rapper's hits include "Runaway Love," "Money Maker" and "Stand Up."

Adam Levine, Carlos Vives, Taylor Swift, Pitbull and have previously received the President's Award. For a complete list of winners, go to

This story first appeared on