'Mad Max,' 'Carol' Big Winners at Australian Academy's International Awards

Courtesy of Warner Bros. Entertainment

Cate Blanchett and Leonardo DiCaprio grabbed the main acting awards.

Following a big year for Australian cinema globally, it was no surprise that some home favorites were the big winners Friday at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) International Awards held in Los Angeles.

Mad Max: Fury Road was named best film, while George Miller won best director. The win for the pic mirrored its top prize at the AACTA domestic awards in December and more recently at the London Critics Circle Film Awards. Miller’s dystopian road movie beat out The Big Short, Carol, The Revenant and Spotlight for the top prize. It is the first time an Australian film has doubled up with a win at the domestic awards in Sydney and then again at the international awards in L.A.

Todd Haynes’ Carol was the other big winner, with Australia's own Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara winning best actress and best supporting actress, respectively.  

Leonardo DiCaprio continued his march toward possible Oscar glory, winning best actor honors, while the AACTA International award for best supporting actor went to Bridge of Spies’ Mark Rylance for his portrayal of Soviet spy Rudolf Abel.

Journalism drama Spotlight won in the best screenplay category against strong competition from Carol, Ex Machina, The Martian and Steve Jobs.

"The fifth year of the AACTA International Awards has again seen a dynamic mix of international and Australian achievement honored, celebrating some of the world’s biggest names in film, behind and in front of the camera," said AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella. “Over the past five years, we’ve seen AACTA International Award winners go on to win 16 BAFTAs and 14 Oscars, and we look forward with great anticipation to seeing if this trend again continues this year. We congratulate all winners, and wish them every success as we head towards the pointy end of this competitive awards season."

The AACTA International Awards are voted on by 150 Australians who are members of the organization’s international chapter, with many of them also members of AMPAS and BAFTA.

The full list of nominees follows, with the winners in bold:

AACTA International Award for Best Film

The Big Short


Mad Max: Fury Road 

The Revenant


AACTA International Award for Best Direction

Adam McKay — The Big Short

Todd Haynes — Carol

George Miller — Mad Max: Fury Road

Ridley Scott — The Martian

Alejandro G. Inarritu — The Revenant

AACTA International Award for Best Screenplay

Phyllis Nagy — Carol

Alex Garland — Ex Machina

Drew Goddard — The Martian

Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer — Spotlight

Aaron Sorkin — Steve Jobs

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor

Steve Carell — The Big Short

Matt Damon — The Martian

Leonardo DiCaprio — The Revenant

Michael Fassbender — Steve Jobs

Eddie Redmayne — The Danish Girl

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress

Cate Blanchett — Carol 

Emily Blunt — Sicario

Brie Larson — Room

Saoirse Ronan — Brooklyn

Charlize Theron — Mad Max: Fury Road

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale — The Big Short

Paul Dano — Love and Mercy

Benicio Del Toro — Sicario

Joel Edgerton — Black Mass

Mark Rylance — Bridge of Spies 

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress

Judy Davis — The Dressmaker

Jennifer Jason Leigh — The Hateful Eight

Rooney Mara — Carol 

Alicia Vikander — The Danish Girl

Kate Winslet — Steve Jobs