Mansell spins double play

Wins 2 World Soundtrack Awards

English composer Clint Mansell was a double winner for his music in Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain" at the World Soundtrack Awards.

Mansell won the prize for best original soundtrack as well as the Public Choice Award at the ceremony, held here Saturday.

France's Alexandre Desplat was named film composer of the year for scoring "The Queen" and "The Painted Veil," and David Arnold picked up the best original song award for "You Know My Name," written with Chris Cornell for the James Bond film "Casino Royale."

Greek legend Mikis Theodorakis ("Zorba the Greek") was given a lifetime achievement award, while Daniel Tarrab and Andres Goldstein shared the Discover of the Year prize for their work on "XXY" and "Inheritance." The award for best young Belgian composer was awarded to Werner Viaene for "Belgium, the Movie" by Wim Robberechts.

Los Angeles-based Mansell, a former rocker with the band Pop Will Eat Itself, thanked Aronofsky for giving him the chance to write film music on "Requiem for a Dream" (2000) and the Kronos Quartet and the band Mogwai for performing his score. The self-effacing composer from Britain's midlands seemed genuinely surprised when his name was later called for the best soundtrack prize, triumphing over Mychael Danna for "Little Miss Sunshine," Philip Glass for "Notes on a Scandal," Harry Gregson-Williams for "Shrek the Third" and David Shire for "Zodiac."

The awards ceremony, hosted by Belgian Television film critic Roel Van Bambost and British broadcaster Tommy Pearson, featured performances of film music by Theodorakis, Danna, Gregson-Williams, Evanthia Reboutsika and Jef Neve.

Awards in the Flanders film festival, handed out earlier, went to Stefan Ruzowitzky's "The Counterfeiters" for best film, Roy Andersson's "You the Living" for best music and Tamara Jenkins' "The Savages" for best screenplay. Saverio Constanzo was named best director for "In Memory of Me," and actors Saleh Bakri and Ronit Elkabetz won a special mention from the jury for "The Band's Visit."

Kathleen Turner headed the jury at the festival, which began Oct. 9.