Marion Cotillard and Patricia Clarkson Join Marrakech Film Festival Jury

Marion Cotillard

The actresses join president Martin Scorsese and a jury of Cannes winners.

PARIS – Oscar winner Marion Cotillard and Oscar nominee Patricia Clarkson will join president Martin Scorsese on this year’s jury for the 13th annual Marrakech Film Festival. 

Oscars aside, the jury is stacked with Cannes winners and regulars as well. This year’s best director winner, Amat Escalante (Heli), and Cannes regular Paolo Sorrentino, who has shown five films in the main competition since 2004, including 2008 jury prize winner Il Divo and 2011 ecumenical jury prize winner This Must Be the Place, will join Iranian-French actress Golshifteh Farahani, who starred in this year’s Un Certain Regard entry My Sweet Pepper Land, and Anurag Kashyap, whose crime thriller Ugly screened in the Director’s Fortnight.

STORY: Martin Scorsese Named President of Marrakech Film Fest Jury

South Korean director Park Chan-wook (Stoker, Oldboy), Turkish director Fatih Akin (New York, I Love You) and Moroccan writer-director Narjiss Nejjar, who took home the best screenplay award at Marrakech in 2003 for Les Yeux Secs, will round out the star-studded jury.

The jury votes on the festival’s top prize, the Golden Star, for best film, as well as the jury prize, best actor and best actress. The festival’s slate of 15 films is expected to be announced next week. The festival will pay tribute to Scandinavian cinema in an evening program Dec. 4.

The festival runs Nov. 29-Dec. 7.