Mark Burnett tapped for Norman Lear Award

Will be first reality show producer to receive PGA's honor

Mark Burnett will be the first reality show producer to win the Producers Guild of America's Norman Lear Award.

The executive producer of CBS' "Survivor," NBC's "The Apprentice" and ABC's "Shark Tank" will receive the award at the annual PGA Awards on Jan. 24.

"Mark Burnett is an extraordinarily gifted and prolific producer who has truly changed the television landscape with his award-winning reality programming," said PGA Awards co-chairs Laurence Mark and David Friendly. "Mark has made a tremendous impact on the television industry worldwide, and we look forward to honoring his remarkable achievements."

Last year, the PGA Norman Lear Award was presented to David Chase. Previous recipients include Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, John Wells, Lorne Michaels, Bud Yorkin, Carsey-Werner-Mandabach, David L. Wolper, Don Hewitt, Garry K. Marshall, Aaron Spelling, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, and Norman Lear.