Mark Gordon to Receive Norman Lear Award from Producer's Guild

Mark Gordon Headshot NEW - H 2013
Courtesy of Subject

Mark Gordon Headshot NEW - H 2013

He will be honored at the 26th Annual PGA Awards on Jan. 24, 2015

Movie and TV producer Mark Gordon will receive the 2015 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television at the 26th Annual Producers Guild Awards on Jan. 24, 2015.

Gordon, who is president emeritus of the guild, is the producer of such TV shows as Grey’s Anatomy, Criminal Minds, Ray Donovan and Army Wives.

“Rarely do we come across an entertainment powerhouse who not only raises the bar for the standard of television," said Producers Guild Awards Co-Chairs Todd Black and Ryan Murphy in a statement, "but changes the landscape of the industry altogether. Mark Gordon is that powerhouse, whose vision has brought us some of the most essential television shows of our time, "

"Television is a wonderfully collaborative medium," said Gordon in a statement, "and I have been lucky to work with so many talented people, all of whom have helped make this award possible."

Last year the same award went to Chuck Lorre. Previous recipients include J.J. Abrams, Don Mischer, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, John Wells, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Don Hewitt, Garry K. Marshall, Aaron Spelling, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett and Norman Lear, himself.

Gordon's movie credits include Saving Private Ryan, Speed and Primary Colors.

He is also president of Career Sushi, a website that assists interns and entry level job seekers. It has over 150,000 users and is affiliated with 12,000 companies.