Mark Hamill to Be Honored at the Oscar Wilde Awards (Exclusive)

Mark Hamill - Getty - H 2017
Getty Images

The 'Star Wars' tradition will continue at the 13th annual awards-season event, held at J.J. Abrams' place.

Following in the galactic footsteps of J.J. Abrams, Princess Leia and Rey, Luke Skywalker is being honored at the Oscar Wilde Awards.

Mark Hamill, who returns as Luke in Star Wars: The Last Jedi, hitting theaters Dec. 15, will be saluted March 1 at the 13th annual event, which once again takes place at Abrams' Bad Robot in Santa Monica on the Thursday night before the Academy Awards.

Hamill is the first 2018 honoree to be announced by Trina Vargo, founder of the US-Ireland Alliance, the nonprofit organization that puts on the Oscar Wilde Awards. Others will follow in the coming weeks.

The always entertaining soiree was designed to laud those from Ireland who contribute to film, television and music. Hamill, 66, who was born in Oakland, Calif., is the latest in a line of "honorary Irishmen" that the Washington-based organization often singles out.

Abrams, who directed Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) and is on board for 2019's Episode IX, was so celebrated in 2010. The late Carrie Fisher (Leia) and Daisy Ridley (Rey) were honored in 2015 and 2016, respectively.

The Force Awakens and The Last Jedi have filmed on the island of Skellig Michael, off the southwest coast of Ireland.

"With Luke Skywalker to feature prominently in the Rian Johnson-directed The Last Jedi, Mark has spent a good deal of time filming in Ireland," Vargo said in a statement. "It seems especially appropriate that we honor him in 2018."

"I attended the Oscar Wilde Awards when my dear friend Carrie Fisher was a recipient," Hamill said. "Now it's my honor to be recognized by the US-Ireland Alliance in the same way. I find it meaningful because Ireland has always had a very special place in my heart, both personally and professionally. I know Trina Vargo's work with artists and scholars, and I'm so pleased to be a part this."

Among those saluted in previous years were Jim Sheridan, Colin Farrell, Caitriona Balfe, Hylda Queally, Seamus McGarvey, Ruth Negga, Sarah Bolger, Lenny Abrahamson, Martin Short, Saoirse Ronan, Brendan Gleeson, Stephen Colbert, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, James Corden, Colm Meaney, Van Morrison, Terry George, Michelle Williams, Neil Jordan and late Hollywood Reporter writer-editor Steve Brennan.