Mark Rylance, Marcia Gay Harden Take Top Acting Awards at Monte Carlo TV Fest

Getty Images
Mark Rylance

'Better Call Saul' and Bob Odenkirk won took home honors in the comedy categories.

Oscar winners Mark Rylance and Marcia Gay Harden can add honors from the Monte Carlo Television Festival to their prize shelf.

Rylance won the award for best actor in a long fiction program for his role on Wolf Hall, and Harden won the best actress in a TV series prize for Code Black

"I am humbled by this award, to be invited to Monaco, and to be included in the category," said Harden, citing the work of her co-nominees Deutschland 83's Maria Schrader, Poldark's Elinor Tomlinson and River's Nicole Walker. 

"This nomination alone is the true win for me. I so grateful to be part of this incredible international community of absolutely incredible and thriving television and so grateful to be working in a job that I love. I'm actually grateful to be working at all," she added.

Rylance was not on hand to accept his award, but series writer Peter Straughan accepted on his behalf and used the moment to call for support of the BBC as it faces political challenges in the U.K. 

Jane Seymour kept things moving at a quick pace as the host of the ceremony, doing her duty in dual languages of English and French. When Prince Albert II came on stage to present the Prince Rainier III prize for an environmental documentary, Seymour joked about her French. "I hope I didn't ruin your beautiful language," she said. 

The Rainier prize went to German- Canadian co-production Gambling on Extinction, which exposes the dark side of globalization in the illegal trade of endangered animals. 

Germany's Line of Separation won the best long fiction prize, while best comedy TV series went to Better Call Saul.

Odile Vuillemin was named best actress in a long fiction program for French drama Woman Under Influence, and Jonas Nay won the best actor prize for his spy role in Germany's Deutschland 83.

Better Call Saul star Bob Odenkirk took home the best actor prize, while Sharon Horgan won the best comedy actress trophy for British comedy Catastrophe.

The best TV series prize went to the BBC’s supernatural thriller River, which stars Stellan Skarsgard.

Jason Priestly served as president of the fiction jury, while Danny Glover presided over the news and documentary jury.

Here’s a complete list of winners below:

Best Long Fiction Program Tannbach – Line of Separation

Best Actress in a Long Fiction Program Odile Vuillemin (Woman Under Influence)

Best Actor in a Long Fiction Program Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall)

Best News Documentary Drone (TV 2 Norway)

Best Current Affairs Documentary Those Who Said No (Nima Film, Sweden)

Best TV News Item Crossing the Aegean Sea (France Televisions)

Best 24 Hour News Program Baltimore Unrest (CNN)

Best Comedy TV Series Better Call Saul

Best Actress in a Comedy TV Series Sharon Horgan (Catastrophe)

Best Actor in a Comedy TV Series Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul)

Best TV Series River (Kudos for the BBC, United Kingdom)

Best Actress in a TV Series Maria Gay Harden (Code Black)

Best Actor in a TV Series Jonas Nay (Deutschland 83)