Anton Corbijn, Olga Kurylenko Join Marrakech Film Festival Jury

Francis Ford Coppola - H 2015
AP Images/Invision

Francis Ford Coppola - H 2015

Thomas Vinterberg, Naomi Kawase and Jean-Pierre Jeunet will also be part of the team of previously announced jury president Francis Ford Coppola.

Directors Thomas Vinterberg, Naomi Kawase and Anton Corbijn will join jury president Francis Ford Coppola in Marrakech next month as jurors for the international film festival.

Oscar-nominated director Jean-Pierre Jeunet (Amelie) will also be on the jury.

This makes the jury heavy on Cannes prize winners. Vinterberg won the jury prize there for The Celebration and his The Hunt took home the best actor award for Mads Mikkelsen in 2012. 

Kawase won the Golden Camera award for Sazaku in 1997 and followed that up with the jury prize for The Mourning Forest a decade later. 

Corbijn took home both the Directors’ Fortnight prize and the Golden Camera for his Control in 2007, before going on to direct George Clooney in The American and Philip Seymour Hoffman in A Most Wanted Man.

Former Bond girl Olga Kurylenko will also join the jury, alongside Moroccan actress Amal Ayouch (The Red Tent) and Indian actress Richa Chadda (Masaan).

Italian actor Sergio Castellitto, who won a European Film Award best actor prize for Mostly Martha, will round out the heavyweight director jury this year.

Coppola follows jury presidents Isabelle Huppert and Martin Scorsese. The festival will host a special tribute to Canadian cinema this year.

The Marrakech International Film Festival runs Dec. 4-13 in Morocco.