Matthew Weiner to Receive NATPE Award

Showrunners Matthew Weiner Headshot

Fox TV Stations group president Dennis Swanson will also be honored at the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Awards in Jan.

Mad Men creator and executive producer Matthew Weiner and Fox TV Stations group president Dennis Swanson are among those who will be honored at the 9th annual Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Awards, which will be presented during the NATPE/Content First Market and Conference in Miami Beach, Florida on Jan. 24, 2012.

They will be joined as honorees by FremantleMedia North America's CEO Cecile Frot-Coutaz and Fernando Gaitan, vice president of production and content for RCN TV in Columbia, who created the show Ugly Betty, which has been re-created in 21 other countries.

STORY: Top 50 Power Showrunners 2011

The honorees of the award were announced Monday by Rick Feldman, NATPE president and CEO. The awards are named after the late Brandon Tartikoff, who ran NBC during one of the network's most successful periods, and later was a studio executive and producer.

"Our honorees for 2012 have lived, worked and traveled all over the globe. Their common interest and the reason we have chosen them, is their passion for great TV programming. Cecile, Fernando, Dennis and Matthew love what they do and we are pleased to honor them in Brandon's name," said Feldman.

Weiner created Mad Men, which has won numerous awards, including four consecutive Primetime Emmy Awards as outstanding drama series, and three consecutive Golden Globe Awards as the best TV drama series.

Before Mad Men, Weiner had been an executive producer on The Sopranos and written for a number of other series such as The Naked Truth and Becker.

Swanson, who current oversees 27 Fox TV stations, has been a television executive for over 30 years. He was general manager of WNBC, executive vp and COO of Viacom TV Stations and as president of ABC Sports played a key role in launching Monday Night Football and convinced the Olympic Committee to stagger its winder and summer games, so that they were on every two years.

Frot-Coutaz, in addition to being CEO of FremantleMedia North America, is also executive producer of their highly rated music show American Idol, which enters its 11th season in 2012. She also oversees development, production and business operations for some 400 hours of network, cable and syndicated programming, including America's Got Talent, The X Factor, The Price Is Right and Let's Make a Deal.

She was involved in the acquisition of All-American Fremantle by the Pearson TV Group, and help transform what was a local enterprise into one of the world's largest production companies.

Gaitan, besides creating Ugly Betty (Yo Soy Betty la fea), one of the first Latin productions to be re-created for American audiences on primetime TV, has won more than 70 awards for RCN TV shows, which include La Pola, Rosario Tijeras, El Man es German, Amor Sincero, El Joe and A Corazon Abierto – a version of Grey's Anatomy.

NATPE/Content First, which has grown from the biggest U.S. TV syndication market into a global content marketplace, takes place for the second year in a row at the Fountainebleau Resort in Miami Beach from Jan. 23 through 25.

The Tartikoff Awards cocktail party is also sponsored by NBC Universal and Broadcasting & Cable/Multichannel News.