Mercury Rev: buy one, get one free

Two albums due in fall; one free for mailing list members

NEW YORK -- Mercury Rev will bestow two new albums on fans in September, one of which will be free to members of its mailing list.

"Snowflake Midnight" is due Sept. 29 internationally via V2/Cooperative (a U.S. release date has yet to be announced). The nine-track set is the follow-up to 2005's "The Secret Migration."

Its companion, "Strange Attractor," boasts 11 additional songs that "reflect an even subtler kind of self-organization" than "Snowflake Midnight," according to the band. Fans can sign up to receive "Attractor" via

Mercury Rev will play a handful of international dates this fall, including a U.K. tour in November. The group is also confirmed to appear at the My Bloody Valentine-curated All Tomorrow's Parties festival in late September in upstate New York.

Here is the track list for "Snowflake Midnight":

"Snowflake in a Hot World"
"Butterfly's Wing"
"Senses on Fire"
"People Are So Unpredictable (There's No Bliss Like Home)"
"October Sunshine"
"Runaway Raindrop"
"Dream of a Young Girl As a Flower"
"Faraway From Cars"
"A Squirrel And I (Holding On ... and Then Letting Go)"

Here is the track list for "Strange Attractor":

"Love Is Pure"
"Taken Up Into Clouds, Changed"
"And Rained Down"
"Pure Joie De La Solitude"
"Persistence and the Apis Mellifera"
"Fable of a Silver Moon"
"Loop Lisse, Loop"
"In My Heart, A Strange Attractor"
"Incident on Abeel Street"
"Af Den Fader Kommer Den Sol"
"Because Because Because"
"Nocturne for Norwood"