Method Fest hands out awards

Stella Schnabel, Patton Oswalt take home acting honors

Stella Schnabel won the Geraldine Page Award for best actress in a feature film for her performance in "You Won't Miss Me," and Patton Oswalt took home the John Garfield Award for best actor for his role in "Big Fan" as the 11th annual the Method Fest held its awards ceremony Thursday night at the Calabasas (Calif.) Civic Center.

The Jury Award for best picture was presented to "Adam," directed by Max Mayer and starring Hugh Dancy, Rose Byrne, Frankie Faison, Peter Gallagher, Amy Irvin, and Mark Linn-Baker, while Becky Smith's "16 to Life" earned the best picture Audience Award.

"16 to Life" also brought Theresa Russell a supporting actress award, while Colm Meany took home the supporting actor award for "A Deal Is a Deal."

Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck, who co-directed "Sugar" were awarded best director honors.

Writer-director John Scoular was awarded best screenplay honors for "Lunatics, Lovers and Poets."

The prize for best ensemble went to the cast of the Canadian comedy "Cooper's Camera," directed by Warren P. Sonoda, and starring Jason Jones, Samantha Bee, Mike Beaver, Dave Foley, Peter Keleghan and Dylan Everett.

Two films tied for the prize for high quality in low-budget filmmaking: "Lovers in a Dangerous Time," directed by Mark Hug and May Charters, and "My Sixteenth Summer," directed by Savvy Lorestani.

Other winners include:

"Sidney Turtlebaum," directed by Tristram Shapeero

Foreign film
"A Deal Is a Deal," directed by Jonathan Gershfield

Actor in a short
Brendan Bradley, "September 12th"

Actress in a short
Laura Heisler, "Coverage"

Audience Award for best short film
"Gone Fishing," directed by Chris Jones

Special Recognition Awards

Festival Director's Award for Excellence
"Anytown," directed by Dave Rodriguez

Breakout acting
Elena Hudgins Lyle, "Only"

Special awards presented before and during the festival

Auteur Director Award
Peter Bogdanovich

Performer to Watch Award
Tanna Frederick

Future Filmmaker Audience Awards

Future Filmmakers Award for Best Picture
First Date, directed by Sabrina Jaglom

Future Filmmakers Award for Best Screenplay (tie)

"Hand to Hand," Cristian Rojas, and "The Magic Bindle Stick," Katie Fleeman

Future Filmmakers Award for Best Acting/Best Actress
Dakota Bailey in "First Date," Best Actor: Terry Young, "Etiolate"
comments powered by Disqus