MIPCOM Online+: 5 Things Not to Miss

Tyler Perry on Challenges of Filming Amid a Pandemic | THR News
Tyler Perry

From an exclusive Q&A with the creators of BBC/Amazon's 'The Pursuit of Love' to Tyler Perry's keynote, here are the events to bookmark for the online-only version of the international TV market, which runs Oct. 12-Oct. 16.

The coronavirus has forced international television market MIPCOM to go online-only this year but the virtual event still has plenty to offer, with some of the biggest names in small-screen entertainment taking part in the newly-branded MIPCOM Online+, which runs Oct. 12-16.

Here are five can't miss highlights to slot into your calendar. The times listed are when the videos will be posted on the MIPCOM Online+ site but events will also be available on-demand.

The Pursuit of Love Q&A with Emily Mortimer, Lily James

An exclusive behind-the-scenes look at new BBC/Amazon Studios limited series The Pursuit of Love with director/writer Emily Mortimer together with stars Lily James, Emily Beecham, Dominic West, Andrew Scott, and Dolly Wells. James and Beecham star as best friends in the romantic comedy-drama, adapted from Nancy Mitford’s novel, set in Europe between the two World Wars.

Time: Monday, Oct. 12 at 9 AM Paris, 8 AM London, 3 AM New York, Midnight Oct. 11 in Los Angeles

Ted Sarandos Keynote

Where Netflix goes, the TV world follows and Sarandos, co-CEO, and chief content officer, will be providing his insights on Netflix's continuing disruption of the global industry. In focus in this keynote: how Netflix is pushing diversity and inclusion on its platform and Sarandos' vision for the future of serial storytelling.

Time: Monday, Oct. 12 at 5.30 PM Paris, 4.30 PM London, 11.30 AM New York, 8.30 AM Los Angeles.

Tyler Perry Keynote

The one-man studio that is Tyler Perry will record a virtual keynote for Mipcom 2020 to discuss his incredible career and how he was able to safely restart production at his Atlanta-based Tyler Perry Studios while complying with strict COVID-19 safety guidelines.

Time: Monday, Oct. 12 at 6 PM Paris, 5 PM London, Noon New York, 9 AM Los Angeles

Diversity TV Excellence Awards

Now in its fourth year, MIPCOM's Diversity TV Excellence Awards highlight the best in programming from marginalized voices worldwide. The winning projects in each category will be chosen by charitable organizations and specialized publications that campaign for equality and inclusion.

Time: Tuesday, Oct. 13 at 6 PM Paris, 5 PM London, Noon New York, 9 AM Los Angeles

Call My Agent! Masterclass with Sigourney Weaver and Camille Cottin

A trans-Atlantic Zoom link-up between Sigourney Weaver and French star Camille Cottin, who will discuss their once-in-a-lifetime collaboration on the last season of cult French Netflix series Call My Agent!

Time: Wednesday, Oct. 14 at 7 PM Paris, 6 PM London, 1 PM New York, 10 AM Los Angeles