MIPTV: First Medaille d'Honneur Recipients Announced

Armando Nunez Executive Portrait - P 2012

Armando Nunez Executive Portrait - P 2012

On its 50th anniversary, the international television market establishes an award to recognize executives' contributions to the industry.

PARIS – Six influential executives are set to receive the inaugural Medaille d’Honneur during MIPTV’s 50th anniversary edition. With slightly more than a week to go until the international television industry heads to Cannes’ Croisette, conference organizer Reed MIDEM announced the new award and this year’s recipients Wednesday night.

Among those being honored are EOS founder and former Association of Commercial Television president Jan Mojto, Sony Japan senior vp Masao Takiyama, France’s Groupe M6 chair Nicolas de Tavernost and BSkyB managing director of content Sophie Turner Laing.  Laing also serves as BAFTA vp and governor of the U.K.’s National Film and TV School. 

And keeping it all in the family, CBS Global Distribution CEO Armando Nunez and his father, former ITC Entertainment vp Armando Nunez Sr., will also take home honors.

“We’re delighted to honor six great industry personalities, highly recognized in their respective countries and by the international community, who have through their talent, leadership and passion played a significant role in the global television industry,” said Laurine Garaude, director of Reed MIDEM’s television division.

PHOTOS: MIPTV 2012 in Pictures

All six honorees are TV industry veterans. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the international television business and development of the global TV community. 

The Medaille d’Honneur awards will be presented April 10 during a gala dinner at the Carlton Hotel.