'Modern Family,' 'Bridesmaids,' '30 Rock' Lead Nominations for Second Annual Comedy Awards

THR's SAG Awards Photo Booth
Jeff Vespa

The cast of "Modern Family" celebrates their second straight SAG Award for outstanding performance by an ensemble in a comedy series.

"Crazy, Stupid, Love." also got five nominations, with stand-up Louis C.K. and Oscar winner "The Artist" also nominated for the event that will once again air on Comedy Central.

NEW YORK – The Oscars may be over, but the funny industry is gearing up to celebrate its best and brightest this spring for the second year in a row.

Modern Family, Bridesmaids, 30 Rock, Crazy, Stupid, Love. and stand-up Louis C.K. lead the nominations for the second annual The Comedy Awards, which were announced Tuesday.

The awards show, which honors and celebrates the best in the world of comedy, will be taped here at the Hammerstein Ballroom on April 28 and premiere on Comedy Central on May 6. Last year, it also aired on several sibling networks of the Viacom channel.

Modern Family, honored with the best comedy series award last year, is once again nominated in that category along with four others. The other nominees for comedy series include 30 Rock, which also earned five nominations, Curb Your Enthusiasm (four), Parks and Recreation (three) and Happy Endings.

Comedy film nominees include Bridesmaids and Crazy, Stupid, Love, which also nabbed five nominations each, Midnight in Paris and Horrible Bosses, both of which have four nominations, as well as the Academy Award-winning The Artist, which received three nominations. 

Among the comedy actors nominations for film are Jason Bateman (Horrible Bosses), Steve Carell (Crazy, Stupid, Love), Jean Dujardin (The Artist), Zach Galifianakis (The Hangover Part II) and Owen Wilson (Midnight in Paris). Jennifer Aniston (Horrible Bosses), Cameron Diaz (Bad Teacher), Emma Stone (Crazy, Stupid, Love) and Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig (both Bridesmaids) are nominated in the best film actress category.

The nominees for the best TV actress honors are Zooey Deschanel (New Girl), Tina Fey (30 Rock), Amy Poehler (Parks and Recreation), Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live) and Sofia Vergara (Modern Family). In the TV actor category, Alec Baldwin (30 Rock), Ty Burrell (Modern Family), Louis C.K. (Louie), Steve Carell (The Office) and Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm) are nominated.

Nominees were selected by the The Comedy Awards board of directors, which includes such big names as Carol Burnett, James Burrows, Stephen Colbert, Brad Grey, Conan O'Brien, Joan Rivers, Jay Roach, Chris Rock, Ray Romano and Jon Stewart. Winners will be chosen by the Comedy Awards Voting Body, comprised of professionals from the comedy industry.

Plus, fans can vote online for their pick for Breakout Performer of the Year. The nominees in that category are Zooey Deschanel, Josh Gad, Donald Glover, Melissa McCarthy and Jason Sudeikis.

The Comedy Awards will also bring back the Johnny Carson Award and the Comedy Icon Award, whose recipients will be announced later. Last year's recipients were David Letterman and Eddie Murphy, respectively.

Don Mischer Productions returns to produce the show with Comedy Central and Viacom Entertainment Group executive vp of event production Casey Patterson.

Email: Georg.Szalai@thr.com

Twitter: @georgszalai