'New Moon' soundtrack being released early

Album, which includes Yorke, Grizzly Bear, leaked online

"Twilight" fanatics are in for an early treat. In light of heated anticipation for "The Twlight Saga: New Moon Original Soundtrack" the set's release date has been moved up four days, from Oct. 20 to this Friday.

The release date change is likely due to the soundtrack's leaking online over the weekend, which was preceded by snippets of the songs becoming available as preview clips on Amazon's U.K. store.

Buzz has been steadily building over the soundtrack to "New Moon" -- the second movie installment of the "Twilight" vampire series -- since its tracklist revealed original songs by Thom Yorke, Grizzly Bear, Bon Iver, St. Vincent, Lykke Li and the Killers, among others. The soundtrack's lead single is "Meet Me on the Equinox," by Death Cab for Cutie.

Alex Patsavas -- the influential music supervisor whose credits include television shows "The O.C.," "Grey's Anatomy," "Gossip Girls" and "Chuck" as well as the original "Twilight" film -- is the music supervisor for "New Moon."

The lineup for the "New Moon" soundtrack is more indie-minded than the first "Twilight" soundtrack, which featured Paramore, Collective Soul and Linkin Park. That set was released in November 2008 and debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart. It has sold 2.2 million copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan.