Morgan Freeman to be Honored With Film Society of Lincoln Center's Chaplin Award

Morgan Freeman - H 2016
Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images

The actor is the latest recipient of the honor that's previously been presented to Robert Redford, Rob Reiner, Barbra Streisand, Sidney Poitier, Tom Hanks, Meryl Streep and others.

Morgan Freeman will receive the Film Society of Lincoln Center's Chaplin Award, it was announced Friday.

Freeman will be honored at the 43rd annual award gala, set to take place on Monday, April 25. Freeman's acting credits include The Electric Company, Lean on Me, Street Smart, Glory, The Bonfire of the Vanities, Unforgiven, Driving Miss Daisy, The Shawshank Redemption, Outbreak, Kiss the Girls, Seven, Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight Rises, Bruce Almighty, Deep Impact, Invictus and Million Dollar Baby, for which he won the best supporting actor Oscar. He has three additional Oscar nominations as well as a best actor Golden Globe win for Driving Miss Daisy.

He's also narrated documentaries like March of the Penguins, The Long Way Home, The Lego Movie, We the People and Island of Lemurs: Madagascar.

His upcoming films include London Has Fallen, Now You See Me 2 and Ben-Hur.

Through his production company, Revelations Entertainment, Freeman is an executive producer on CBS' Madam Secretary and three-time Emmy nominated series Through the Wormhole, for which Freeman also serves as the host. He will soon be seen hosting National Geographic's series The Story of God.

In 2011, he received the Golden Globes' Cecil B. DeMille Award and in 2000 received a Kennedy Center Honor.

"The Board is delighted to honor Morgan Freeman with the Chaplin Award this year," Film Society of Lincoln Center board chairman Ann Tenenbaum said in a statement. "He is one of the most gifted actors of our time and his body of work has changed the film landscape. He is universally loved as an actor and as a humanitarian, and we are thrilled to add the Chaplin to the long list of distinguished awards he has already received."

Executive director Lesli Klainberg added: "Morgan Freeman is one of most highly regarded and beloved actors of his generation and we are excited to honor all of his achievements with the Chaplin Award, our biggest fundraiser of the year, which recognizes those whose mastery of their craft has made an impact on the art of film. Whether in a leading or supporting role, he brings a quiet gravitas to each of his memorable performances in such films as Lean on Me and Driving Miss Daisy to Street Smart, The Shawshank Redemption, Seven, Million Dollar Baby and Invictus."

The Film Society of Lincoln Center's annual award gala began in 1972 when it honored Charlie Chaplin. The award, which has since been renamed for Chaplin, has previously been presented to Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Sidney Poitier, Barbra Streisand, Rob Reiner and Robert Redford, among others.