MTV Asia Awards return

Malaysia hosts this year's event

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia -- Malaysian music fans saw the MTV Asia Music Awards return in style after a one-year hiatus when the sixth edition of the show was staged at the 6,000-capacity Arena of Stars in the Genting Highlands resort.

The previous MTV Asia Awards were held in Singapore and Bangkok. Last night's ceremony was hosted by actor Jared Leto, who also is the frontman of 30 Seconds to Mars. Leto's co-host was Hong Kong actress/singer Karen Mok.

After a public vote across Asia via the Internet, 18 regional and international awards were presented, with Linkin Park winning being named favorite international artist in Asia. Radiohead won the Innovation award, while British R&B/pop vocalist, Leona Lewis, was named breakthrough artist.

U.K. band Muse clinched the "Bring Da House Down" award as best live act. 30 Seconds to Mars won the Video Star award for the video "A Beautiful Lie." Mok was presented with the inspiration award and the remix of OneRepublic's "Apologize," which featured on Timbaland's "Shock Value" album won the best hook up award.

National Asian winners included: pop vocalist Show Lo (Taiwan); boy band Super Junior (Korea); pop vocalist Nicholas Teo (Malaysia).

An international cast of performers, including the Click Five, Panic at the Disco, Leona Lewis, Pussycat Dolls, OneRepublic, Jabbawockeez, and rising Irish pop band the Script, provided the evening's entertainment along with Malaysian acts Pop Shuvit, Joe Flizzow and Jaclyn Victor.

The MTV Asia Awards 2008 was locally sponsored by X-Pax, the youth-branded pre-paid card from Malaysia's Celcom. MTV Asia broadcast the ceremony live across the region.