Mumford & Sons' 'Babel' to be Released Sept. 25

Mumford & Sons Babel Album Art - H 2012

Mumford & Sons Babel Album Art - H 2012

Fans can pre-order the London-based band's 12-track album on July 23.

Mumford & Sons have announced their highly anticipated sophomore album, Babel, will be released on Sept. 25 and include twelve new songs from British folk-rockers. Produced by Markus Dravs, who helmed the multi-platinum debut Sigh No More, the album started to take shape after the foursome reluctantly took time off from touring.

"We had started writing new songs well before we got into the studio to record," the band says. "At first, we peeled ourselves off the road quite reluctantly. We love playing live, obviously, but it had also become an important part of our creative process, we had been writing and rehearsing in soundchecks, and sort of 'road-testing' new songs on our very gracious audiences. But then we fell in love with recording again."

STORY: Mumford & Sons Announce Summer Tour Dates, Hint at Album Release Date

The cover for Babel shows the London-based band -- Marcus Mumford, Winston Marshall, Ben Lovett, Ted Dwane -- seated in front of what looks to be a lively English party complete babies, beer and a horse. Song titles, being released on Glassnote, include "Whispers in the Dark," "Holland Road" and "Broken Crown."

They say the new songs are a "natural progression" from 2009's "Sigh No More," which has sold 2.3 million copies, according to Nielsen Soundscan.

STORY: Carey Mulligan Marries Mumford & Sons Singer

"As a band, we've never been closer or more collaborative, all working to our strengths," they say. "And so we feel that this record is a natural progression that we're proud of, and we cannot wait to take it out on the road."

The group will continue their Gentlemen of the Road Stopover Shows this Summer in America, and have announced a tour of Australia and New Zealand for later in the year. Tour dates as well as information on how to pre-order Babel starting July 23 can be found here.

Babel Tracklisting:

1. Babel

2. Whispers In The Dark

3. I Will Wait

4. Holland Road

5. Ghosts That We Knew

6. Lover Of The Light

7. Lovers' Eyes

8. Reminder

9. Hopeless Wanderer

10. Broken Crown

11. Below My Feet

12. Not With Haste