NAACP to honor two Nobel Laureates

Al Gore, Wangari Muta Maathai earn Chairman's Award

Nobel Peace Prize Laureates Al Gore and Wangari Muta Maathai will be awarded the NAACP Chairman's Award during the 40th NAACP Image Awards, which Fox will broadcast live Feb. 12 from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

The Chairman's Award, chosen by NAACP board chairman Julian Bond, is bestowed in recognition of special achievement and distinguished public service.

Vicangelo Bulluck is exec producing the broadcast, which coincides with the NAACP's 100th anniversary.

"I am very proud to recognize former Vice President Gore and Dr. Maathai for their substantial efforts in environmental awareness, sustainable development and peace," Bond said. "Their courageous and historic accomplishments have benefited not only current but future generations, and they clearly reflect the values that we have so valiantly fought for over the past century."

Nominations for the show that recognizes the artistic achievements of people of color and honors projects and individuals that promote diversity in the arts will be announced Jan. 7 in Los Angeles.