NAMIC unveils next-generation leaders


NAMIC has announced the recipients of its 2007 Next Generation Leaders Awards, which recognize emerging business leaders who represent the organization's mission to promote multiethnic diversity in the communications industry. The MSO recipients are Charter Communications' Steven Apodaca, Comcast Cable's Barbara Gee and Time Warner Cable-Northeast Ohio Division's Darrel Hegar; programmer honorees are VH1 and CMT's Richard Gay, the Weather Channel's Harold Lewis and TV One's Karen Wishart; and technology honorees are Fuse's Lisa Choi-Owens and TWC's Sherisse Hawkins. In addition, Syncom's Terry Jones and Herbert Wilkins Sr. will be honored with the Stanley B. Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award.

The May 9 awards will be held Las Vegas in conjunction with the National Cable & Telecommunications Assn.'s Cable Show.