Nancy Meyers to be Honored by American Cinema Editors

Nancy Meyers - H 2015
Peggy Sirota

Nancy Meyers - H 2015

Steven Spielberg, Quentin Tarantino and Alexander Payne are past winners of the honor.

Nancy Meyers will be honored by the American Cinema Editors with the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award.

"Nancy Meyers has been delighting and moving audiences around the world with deeply human, relatable stories for over three decades," the ACE board of directors announced Tuesday. "As a writer and director, she’s brought us some of the most beloved films in recent memory, and pioneered the art of telling stories with strong female characters at their center." 

Steve Martin, Meyers' longtime collaborator, will present the honor at the annual ACE Eddie Awards in January. 

The writer-director is known for her heartfelt work on such films as Private Benjamin, It's Complicated and The Holiday. Her recent pic The Intern, starring Robert De Niro and Anne Hathaway, grossed $192 million at the worldwide box office.

Past recipients of the award include Frank Marshall, Steven Spielberg, Quentin Tarantino, Alexander Payne and James Cameron.

The ACE Eddie Awards will take place Jan. 29 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.