Nantucket Film Fest: Richard Linklater's 'Boyhood' Among Winners

Mark Ruffalo - P 2014
Courtesy of Frank PR

Mark Ruffalo - P 2014

The festival drew a phalanx of Hollywood and media guests, including Aaron Sorkin, Mark Ruffalo and MSNBC's Chris Matthews.

Richard Linklater's Boyhood was among the winners at this year's Nantucket Film Festival.

Linklater's coming-of-age film, which is already generating awards-season buzz, took home the award for best writer-director at the annual festival, now in its 19th year.

The awards were announced on the final day of the festival, which drew a phalanx of Hollywood and media guests including Aaron Sorkin, who was the recipient of this year's Screenwriters Tribute Award, and Mark Ruffalo, who was on hand to present his upcoming film Begin Again, as well as MSNBC's Hardball host, Chris Matthews.

Boyhood will wrap up the festivities later Sunday as the closing night film. 

LIST Hollywood's 100 Favorite Films

Nathan and David Zellner’s Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter was awarded best screenwriting in a feature film and Bernardo Britto's Yearbook was honored as the best screenwriting in a short film.

The Nantucket audiences awarded director Rory Kennedy and her documentary Last Days in Vietnam the Audience Award for best film, and The Bravest, The Boldest by Moon Molson and Eric Fallen for best short.

Actress, directed by Robert Greene, was tapped best storytelling in a documentary feature.  

The Audience Award best film runner-up was The Case Against 8, directed by Ben Cotner and Ryan White.

"This year's festival boasts more filmmakers, films and talent than ever before," said Basil Tsiokos, Nantucket Film Festival Film program director.  "The wide array of programming showcased during the festival brought out some of the most talented screenwriters and directors in the industry and we are thrilled to have been able to share with the Nantucket community. As we look forward to the 20th-year anniversary of the festival it’s heartening to see such support for independent film. We are excited for what is still to come for this vibrant and growing festival."

The Festival also awarded the eighth annual Adrienne Shelley Excellence in Filmmaking award, which bestows a cash prize to a female filmmaker in honor of the late director. The award was presented to Diana Whitten, for her film Vessel.

The festival bestowed its Showtime Tony Cox Screenplay Competition for Feature Film award to Clark Carroll for his coming-of-age screenplay Early Plus Infinity. Short screenplay honors went to Open Roads by Mimi Jeffries. The hour-long TV pilot award was given to Jamie Mayer for Tomorrowland, and the half-hour TV pilot winner was Stu Feldman's Stiffs.

The Teen View Jury Award went to The Hyperglot, directed by Michael Urie and written by Michael Levi Harris.

This year’s festival hosted the sixth annual All-Star Comedy Roundtable presented by Ben Stiller. Host Michael Ian Black interviewed Stiller, Jenny Slate, Billy Eichner and John C. Daly for the event.

On June 28, comedian and former Daily Show writer and correspondent Wyatt Cenac hosted the Screenwriters Tribute Awards from the Siaconset Casino, where The West Wing actor Bradley Whitford presented the award to Sorkin. Writer-director Mike Cahill took home the New Voices in Screenwriting Award for his film I Origins, which served as the festival's centerpiece screening. Steve James, director of Life Itself, accepted the A&E Special Achievement in Documentary Storytelling Award.

Twitter: @TatianaSiegel27