Nantucket Film Festival: 'Other People' and 'Life, Animated' Win Audience Awards

Other People still - H 2016
Courtesy of Sundance Institute

'Captain Fantastic' and 'Tickled' were runners up in the narrative and documentary categories as the 21st edition of the festival wrapped up with a number of awards.

The Nantucket Film Festival has announced the award winners for its 21st edition, which concluded Monday.

The audience awards for best narrative and documentary features went to Molly Shannon starrer Other People, written and directed by Chris Kelly, and Life, Animated, directed by Roger Ross Williams, respectively. Captain Fantastic, starring Viggo Mortensen and written and directed by Matt Ross, was named the runner-up in the narrative feature category. In the documentary category, Tickled, directed by David Farrier and Dylan Reeve, was the runner-up.

Best short film went to Kahane Cooperman's Joe's Violin, with John Stanton's The Last Bay Scallop? named the runner-up.

In addition, winners were announced in the fest's Showtime Tony Cox Screenplay Competition, which recognizes the best unproduced screenplays and television pilots by emerging writers. Sameh Zoabi and Dan Kleinman's Tel Aviv on Fire won the feature screenplay competition. Zoabi received a $5,000 cash prize and one of four coveted spots in a Screenwriters Colony monthlong writing retreat in October. Julia Fontana's hourlong pilot Cleo and Wyndham Lewis' half-hour pilot The Godmother won the episodic screenplay awards. Fontana and Lewis each received a $1,000 cash prize and consultation with a Showtime executive. Lewis also secures one of four slots in the episodic comedy two-week writing and mentorship program as part of the Screenwriters Colony.

Among other award winners, Michael Koehler's Waylaid was named the short screenplay competition champion, with Koehler winning a $500 cash prize, and the festival's teen view jury award, selected by a group of Nantucket junior high school students, went to The Bathtub.

“We’re tremendously proud of this year’s festival, from the engaging array of films and signature programs to our highly-supportive audiences who spent five days enjoying our lineup and the glorious Nantucket sunshine,” Nantucket Film Festival executive director Mystelle Brabbee and program director Basil Tsiokos said in a joint statement. “We were thrilled to host filmmakers and screenwriters from around the world who provided thought-provoking content and conversation, and are grateful to our juries and audiences for recognizing this year’s talented award-winners.”

Over the weekend, at the Seth Meyers-hosted Screenwriters Tribute Awards, Oliver Stone accepted the festival's screenwriting tribute award, given to him by Bennett Miller; Shannon received the Compass Rose Acting Award, presented by Michael Ian Black; Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady won the A&E Special Achievement in Documentary Storytelling Award for their film Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You (Lear was presented the prize via video); and Sian Heder accepted the New Voices in Screenwriting Award from Zachary Quinto.

The festival also announced the winner of the ninth annual Adrienne Shelly Foundation Excellence in Filmmaking Award, with this year's $5,000 cash prize in honor of the late director going to Irene Taylor Brodsky for her HBO documentary Beware the Slenderman.