Nantucket Film Festival: Tom McCarthy Among Screenwriters Tribute Honorees

Tom McCarthy - H 2015
Bryan Bedder/Getty Images for FIJI Water

'Episodes' co-creators David Crane and Jeffrey Klarik will also be recognized, as will documentary filmmaker Nick Broomfield.

Oscar-winning Spotlight writer-director Tom McCarthy, Episodes co-creators David Crane and Jeffrey Klarik and documentary filmmaker Nick Broomfield will all be honored at the the upcoming Nantucket Film Festival.

McCarthy will receive the screenwriters tribute, which has previously been given to Oliver Stone, David O. Russell, Judd Apatow, Paul Haggis, Aaron Sorkin, Nancy Meyers and Steve Martin, among others. This year, for the first time, the screenwriters tribute was determined by a writers jury, consisting of Barry Levinson, Ben Stiller, Nancy Meyers and Nathaniel Philbrick.

The Emmy-nominated writing team Crane and Klarik will receive the creative impact in television writing award. Prior to co-creating Showtime's Emmy-nominated series Episodes, starring Matt LeBlanc, Crane famously co-created Friends as well as Veronica's Closet and HBO's Dream On. Klarik was nominated for an Emmy for his work on NBC's Mad About You.

BAFTA-winning documentarian Broomfield, who co-directed the new Whitney Houston doc Whitney: Can I Be Me, will be presented with the special achievement in documentary storytelling award. His credits include Kurt & Courtney, Biggie and Tupac and Tales of the Grim Sleeper.

The 22nd Nantucket Film Festival is set to run June 21-26, with the Screenwriters Tribute event occurring on Friday, June 23.