National Board of Review Announces Dates for 2015 Winners Vote, 2016 Ceremony

The gala will again be hosted by NBC's Willie Geist.

The National Board of Review has announced when it will vote on its 2015 awards and the date those winners will be celebrated at the NBR's annual New York ceremony.

The organization will vote on and announce its 2015 winners on Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2015. The winners' gala will take place on Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2016.

As in recent years, the 2016 awards ceremony will take place at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York and, like last year's gala, it will be hosted by NBC's Willie Geist.

The NBR awards are voted on by a select group of knowledgeable film enthusiasts, professionals, academics, young filmmakers and students.
The awards have a mixed track record in terms of predicting eventual Oscar nominees.

Last year's best film, A Most Violent Year, didn't receive any Oscar nominations, and the prior year's top-prize winner, Spike Jonze's Her, only one won Oscar.

Past NBR best film winners include Zero Dark Thirty (2012), Hugo (2011), The Social Network (2010) and Up in the Air (2009).