National Society of Film Critics Names 'Amour' Best Picture

Amour Michael Haneke - H 2012

Amour Michael Haneke - H 2012

Top acting awards go to Daniel Day-Lewis for "Lincoln" and Emmanuelle Riva for "Amour."

The National Society of Film Critics, meeting Jan. 5 in New York to vote its annual awards, embraced Amour. The end-of-life drama was named best picture and also earned best directing honors for Michael Haneke and best actress laurels for Emmanuelle Riva.  

Daniel Day-Lewis was voted best actor for Lincoln. The historical drama was also cited for its screenplay by Tony Kushner.

Supporting actor awards went to Matthew McConaughey for his performances in both Magic Mike and Bernie and to Amy Adams for The Master. The Master also took the prize for Mihai Malaimare Jr.'s cinematography.

The Gatekeepers, a documentary about the Israeli security forces, was named best nonfiction film.

The award for experimental film was given to Jafar Panahi's This Is Not a Film.

The critics group awarded Film Heritage prizes to Laurence Kardish, senior film curator at New York's Museum of Modern Art, for his 44 years of service that included this year's Weimar Cinema retrospective and also to Milestone Film and Video for their ongoing Shirley Clarke project.

This year's awards were dedicated to the late Andrew Sarris, one of the founding members of the society.

Founded in 1966, the Society is comprised of 60 critics from around the country. The group's 47th annual awards voting meeting, at which David Sterritt was re-elected chairman for 2013, was held at the Elinor Bunim Munroe Center at the Film Society of Lincoln Center. Scrolls will be sent to the winners.

A complete breakdown of the voting follows:


*1. Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln – 59 (Dreamworks/Touchstone)
2. Denis Lavant – 49
3. Joaquin Phoenix – 49

*1. Emmanuelle Riva – Amour – 50 (Sony Classics)
2. Jennifer Lawrence - 42
3. Jessica Chastain– 32

*1. Matthew McConaughey – Magic Mike (Warner Bros.), Bernie (Millennium Entertainment) – 27
2. Tommy Lee Jones – 22
3. Philip Seymour Hoffman - 19

*1. Amy Adams – The Master (The Weinstein Co.) – 34
2. Sally Field – 23
3. Anne Hathaway - 13

*1. Amour (Sony Classics) – 28
2. The Master – 25
3. Zero Dark Thirty – 18

*1. Michael Haneke (Amour) – 27
2. Kathryn Bigelow – 24
2. Paul Thomas Anderson - 24

*1. The Gatekeepers - Sony Pictures Classics – 53
2. This Is Not a Film – 45
3. Searching for Sugar Man – 23

*1. Lincoln (Dreamworks/Touchstone) – Tony Kushner – 59
2. The Master (P.T. Anderson) – 27
3. Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell) - 19

*1. The Master (Mihai Malaimare Jr. ) - 60
2. Skyfall (Roger Deakins) – 30
3. Zero Dark Thirty (Greig Fraser) - 21

EXPERIMENTAL: This Is Not a Film (Jafar Panahi)