NATPE 2016 to Honor Steve Harvey, Norman Lear and More

The Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award will also be handed to Doug Herzog, Quincy Jones and Sophie Turner Laing.

At the 2016 National Association of Television Program Executives market and conference in Miami, the organization will hand out the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award to a slew of familiar TV personalities.

NATPE CEO Rod Perth announced the 13th annual recipients include comedian and host Steve Harvey, Viacom exec Doug Herzog, producer and record exec Quincy Jones, Endemol Shine Group topper Sophie Turner Laing and TV icon Norman Lear.

“Each of these honorees has had enormous impact on our culture and our business, which is dedicated to celebrating content excellence across multiple platforms,” said Perth. “Steve Harvey, Doug Herzog, Quincy Jones, Sophie Turner Laing and Norman Lear are fearlessly creative innovators and we can’t think of a more fitting group to honor for this year’s Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award. We look forward to honoring their achievements in television at this momentous event at NATPE Miami 2016.”

NATPE says recipients are selected for "exhibiting extraordinary passion, leadership, independence and vision in the process of creating compelling content." The awards will be handed out Jan. 20, 2016, at a special reception at Miami's Fontainebleau Resort.

"It would have meant so much to Brandon that NATPE has kept alive his love for what has become a new world of entertaining content that now reaches across every platform,” said Lilly Tartikoff.  “Norman, Quincy, Sophie, Doug and Steve embody the creative brilliance and passion for the business that was his trademark. I wish warm congratulations to each of them!"