NATPE selects four for Tartikoff awards

Gaspin, Kelley, Gotlieb and Sheindlin to be honored

Jeff Gaspin, David E. Kelley, Irwin Gotlieb and Judge Judith Sheindlin will be honored with the National Association of Television Program Executives' seventh annual Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Awards, to be presented Jan. 25 during the NATPE 2010 Market & Conference in Las Vegas.

The awards announcement was unveiled Sunday by NATPE president-CEO Rick Feldman and NATPE chair Kevin Beggs, who is Lionsgate's president of TV programming and production.

Gaspin is chairman of NBC Universal Television Entertainment; Kelley is an Emmy-winning screenwriter and TV producer; Gotlieb is the CEO of the global media investment management company GroupM; and Sheindlin is presiding judge on "Judge Judy," the highest-rated nationally syndicated court show.

"NATPE, along with Lilly Tartikoff, are delighted to celebrate Jeff, David, Irwin and Judy as we honor Brandon's legacy," Feldman said. "Their unique contributions to our business represent the passion, leadership, independence and vision that evoke Brandon's spirit."

Gaspin, who was promoted to the chairmanship in July, oversees all business, creative, production, distribution and marketing aspects of NBC Universal's entertainment television operations.

Kelley is the creative mind behind some of America's most distinctive TV series, including "Boston Legal," "The Practice" and "Ally McBeal."

As head of GroupM, the parent company to WPP media agencies Maxus, MediaCom, Mediaedge and MindShare, Gotlieb oversees various services that bring competitive advantage to the advertising conglom's clients.

Having made a name for herself as a tough but fair judge in New York's family court, Sheindlin retired from the bench in 1996 to bring her trademark wisdom to the syndie strip. The show is now in its 13th season.

NATPE is a nonprofit dedicated to the creation, development and distribution of programming in all forms across all media platforms.